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CASE HISTORY
The claimant timely appealed a February 20, 2020 determination which reduced benefits under AS 23.20.360, denied benefits under AS 23.20.387, and held the claimant liable for the repayment of benefits and the payment of a penalty under AS 23.20.390.
The issues before the Tribunal are whether the claimant
· earned wages during the weeks claimed;

· knowingly made a false statement or misrepresentation in connection with the claim; and

· is liable for the repayment of benefits and the payment of a penalty.

FINDINGS OF FACT
The claimant established a claim for unemployment insurance benefits effective May 5, 2019. The Division of Employment and Training Services requested the claimant’s wages for weeks that occurred during the quarters that the claimant filed for benefits and the employer reported wages to the Division. The employer returned the Division’s audit form with the earnings for the three weeks under review based upon its records.

The claimant worked part time during the weeks ending July 6, 2019 and August 17, 2019. He received vacation pay during the week ending 

July 13, 2019.
The following chart shows the earnings as reported by the claimant and the employer for the three weeks under review.
	Week Ending Date
	Earnings as Reported by Claimant
	Earnings as Reported by Employer
	Employer

	July 6, 2019
	$395.00
	$588.00
	Arctec Alaska

	July 13, 2019
	$0.00
	$815.36 (vacation pay)
	Arctec Alaska

	August 17, 2019
	$414.75
	$460.60
	Arctec Alaska


The claimant reported his hourly wage as $39.50 per hour. He reported that he worked 10 hours during week ending July 6, 2019. The Division’s website calculated the weekly earnings based upon what he reported were his wages and hours. The claimant failed to recall at the time of filing that the ten hours were for Sunday and were all overtime. He believed that he had correctly reported his hours worked and wages. The employer reported the claimant’s hourly wage a $39.20. His overtime rate was $58.80.
The employer paid the claimant vacation pay of $815.36 on July 12, 2019 by direct deposit. The claimant did not check his bank account and was not aware of the deposit when he filed his claim certification for the week ending July 13, 2019. He generally gets vacation pay on his last check and was not expecting vacation pay at that time. He verified that he had received the vacation pay deposited in his account on July 12, 2019 after receiving the determination under appeal.
The claimant reported his hourly wage as $39.50 per hour. He reported that he worked 10 and ½ hours during week ending August 17, 2019. The Division’s website calculated the weekly earnings based upon his wage and hour reports. The claimant failed to recall at the time of filing that 2 and ½ hours were overtime. If he had recalled, he is not aware of a way to alter the website’s calculations. The employer reported the claimant’s hourly wage a $39.20. His overtime rate was $58.80.

PROVISIONS OF LAW
AS 23.20.360. Earnings deducted from weekly benefit amount.
The amount of benefits, excluding the allowance for dependents, payable to an insured worker for a week of unemployment shall be reduced by 75 percent of the wages payable to the insured worker for that week that are in excess of $50. However, the amount of benefits may not be reduced below zero. If the benefit is not a multiple of $1, it is computed to the next higher multiple of $1. If the benefit is zero, no allowance for dependents is payable.
AS 23.20.387. Disqualification for misrepresentation.
(a)
An insured worker is disqualified for benefits for the week with respect to which the false statement or misrepresentation was made and for an additional period of not less than six weeks or more than 52 weeks if the department determines that the insured worker has knowingly made a false statement or misrepresentation of a material fact or knowingly failed to report a material fact with intent to obtain or increase benefits under this chapter. The length of the additional disqualification and the beginning date of that disqualification shall be determined by the department according to the circumstances in each case.

(b)
A person may not be disqualified from receiving benefits under this section unless there is documented evidence that the person has made a false statement or a misrepresentation as to a material fact or has failed to disclose a material fact. Before a determination of fraudulent misrepresentation or nondisclosure may be made, there must be a preponderance of evidence of an intention to defraud, and the false statement or misrepresentation must be shown to be knowing and to involve a material fact.
AS 23.20.390. Recovery of improper payments; penalty.
(a)
An individual who receives a sum as benefits from the unemployment compensation fund when not entitled to it under this chapter is liable to the fund for the sum improperly paid to the individual.

(f)
In addition to the liability under (a) of this section for the amount of benefits improperly paid, an individual who is disqualified from receipt of benefits under AS 23.20.387 is liable to the department for a penalty in an amount equal to 50 percent of the benefits that were obtained by 
knowingly making a false statement or misrepresenting a material fact, or knowingly failing to report a material fact, with the intent to obtain or increase benefits under this chapter. The department may, under regulations adopted under this chapter, waive the collection of a penalty under this section. The department shall deposit into the general fund the penalty that it collects.

CONCLUSION

The first issue is whether the claimant worked and earned wages for the weeks in question.
Under AS 23.20.360, the benefits that a person is entitled to receive must be reduced by the amount of wages a person earns. The amount of the deduction is figured using the formula found within the statute. The claimant had earnings as reported by Arctec Alaska. The claimant’s benefits must be reduced accordingly.
The second issue is whether the claimant knowingly made a false statement or misrepresentation in connection with the claim.
The claimant reported his wage per hour was $39.50. The form on the website did not ask for his overtime wage. It is common for someone that is asked the amount of their wage to reply with the regular amount per hour and not the overtime rate. Thus, the claimant truthfully entered the amount of he believed to be his hourly wage.  He reported the number of hours that he worked during that week. The Division’s website calculates the amount of earnings per week.

The claimant certified each of the weeks in question. In reaffirming that simply contending a mistake or oversight fails to rebut the presumption of fraud, the Commissioner held as follows in the matter of Gillen, Com. Dec. 9121667, December 6, 1991: 
If we were to allow this kind of excuse, the fraud provision would become a dead letter.  Any claimant can come into a hearing and testify that the false claim was a mistake, or that he doesn't know or doesn't remember how the false entries were made.
In this case, the claimant was aware of the entries and the reason he made the entries in the amounts which he did. He believed that the amounts were correct for the week ending July 6, 2019. The Division has not met its burden to show that the claimant intended to make a false entry or misrepresent his eligibility. The Tribunal holds the claimant did not intentionally misrepresent his eligibility for the weeks ending July 6, 2019.
The difference between the earnings the claimant reported for week ending August 17, 2019 and what was reported by the employer is less than $50.00 and does not meet the threshold to be held as misrepresentation. The Tribunal holds, as did the Division, that the claimant did not intentionally misrepresent his eligibility for week ending August 17, 2019.

The claimant failed to report any income of any kind during the week ending July 13, 2019. The employer reported that the claimant was paid vacation pay in the amount of $815.36 during that week. The claimant recalled that he did not check his bank account during the week ending July 13, 2019 to note the direct deposit of his vacation pay made by his employer on July 12, 2019.
It is prudent for a claimant to be aware of any income that affects his eligibility for unemployment insurance benefits in order to properly notify the Division of his eligibility during any week for which he files a claim certification for benefits. His failure to report such income is misrepresentation of his eligibility for that week. Therefore, the Tribunal must find intentional misrepresentation for the week ending July 13, 2019.

The third issue is whether the claimant is liable for the repayment of benefits and the payment of a penalty.
AS 23.20.390 states an individual who receives a sum as benefits from the unemployment compensation fund when not entitled to it under this chapter is liable to the fund for the sum improperly paid to the individual. In addition to the liability under (a) of this section for the amount of benefits improperly paid, an individual who is disqualified from receipt of benefits under AS 23.20.387 is liable to the department for a penalty in an amount equal to 50 percent of the benefits that were obtained by knowingly making a false statement or misrepresenting a material fact, or knowingly failing to report a material fact, with the intent to obtain or increase benefits.
The evidence presented shows that the claimant received benefits to which he
 was not entitled and that he intentionally misrepresented his eligibility in order to receive benefits to which he was not entitled for the week ending 
July 13, 2019. The Tribunal holds that the claimant is liable to the fund the amount of benefits he received to which he was not entitled and the payment of a penalty under AS 23.20.387.

DECISION
The notice of determination and determination of liability issued in this matter on February 20, 2020 is AFFIRMED in part and MODIFIED in part.
· That portion of the determination holding that the claimant’s benefits are reduced due to receipt of wages is AFFIRMED. Benefits remain reduced under AS 23.20.360 for

· the weeks ending July 6, 2019, July 13, 2019 and 



August 17, 2019.
· That portion of the determination holding that the claimant committed fraud or misrepresentation is MODIFIED. A disqualification under AS 23.20.387 is imposed, and benefits are denied for

· the week ending July 13, 2019; and
· the weeks ending February 22, 2020 through March 28, 2020.
· That portion of the determination holding that the claimant is liable for the repayment of benefits and for the payment of a penalty is AFFIRMED and REMANDED to the Division for recalculation of the overpayment and the assessed penalty in keeping with this decision.

APPEAL RIGHTS
This decision is final unless an appeal is filed to the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development within 30 days after the decision is mailed to each party.  The appeal period may be extended only if the appeal is delayed by circumstances beyond the party's control.  A statement of appeal rights and procedures is enclosed.

Dated and mailed on March 19, 2020.
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