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CASE HISTORY

The claimant, Russimone Cacacting, timely appealed a June 28, 2021 determination
which imposed penalties under AS 23.20.387 and AS 23.20.390 after the Division
found she knowingly made false statements or misrepresentations during the
unemployment claim process. The Department of Labor referred the appeal to the
Office of Administrative Hearings. Under the agreed terms of referral, an
administrative law judge (ALJ) hears and decides the appeal under procedures specific
to Ul appeals. AS 44.64.060 procedures do not apply.

The matter was heard in a recorded hearing April 20, 2022.

The issues before the ALJ were 1) whether the claim contained material misstatements
of fact, 2) whether the claimant knowingly made those misrepresentations with the
intent to defraud, and 3) whether the claimant is liable for repayment of benefits,
payment of a penalty, and temporary disqualification.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Russimone Cacacting established a claim for Ul benefits. The Division initially
approved the claim and benefits were paid. Subsequently the Division concluded Ms.
Cacacting failed to correctly report her work and wages and, as a result, received a
benefit overpayment. The Division asserted wages were incorrectly reported the
benefit weeks March 13, 2021, March 20, 2021, March 27, 2021, April 3, 2021, April
10, 2021, April 17, 2021, April 24, 2021, and May 1, 2021.

A grid showing the claim week, the wages and work reported by the claimant, and the
wages and work subsequently reported by the employer demonstrates the following:



Claim Week | Claimant | Employer | Claimant | Employer
Reported | Reported | Reported | Reported
Wages Wages Work Work
03/13/2021 | $0 $53.76 0 4
03/20/2021 | $0 $161.28 0 12
03/27/2021 [ $322.56 [$362.55 |24 27
04/03/2021 | $161.28 $523.90 12 39.65
04/10/2021 | $107.52 $408.58 8 30.4
04/17/2021 | $161.28 $419.33 12 31.2
04/24/2021 | $215.04 $321.22 16 23.9
05/01/2021 | $161.28 $322.56 12 24

Division Hearing Exhibit 1 included copies of Ms. Cacacting’s electronic claims
submissions. Each week Ms. Cacacting answered “yes” to the question of whether she
“read and understood the fraud warning.” Each week Ms. Cacacting also answered
“yes” to the question “do you certify the answers your provided are true and correct for
the claimed benefit week?”

The Division identified a total state Ul benefit overpayment of $1,533.00 resulting from
the inaccurate wage reporting and made a demand for repayment. Of that amount the
Division concluded $1,503.00 in overpayments were the result of inaccuracies
knowingly made with the intent to defraud and the Division requested a penalty of
$751.00. The Division also identified a federal overpayment of $2,100. The Division
imposed a six-week disqualification from future benefits for each week of alleged
fraudulent reporting for a total disqualification of 42 weeks.

Ms. Cacacting appealed.
The hearing took place April 20, 2022.

Ms. Cacacting testified that she was currently living in Hawaii where she moved after
losing employment in Alaska due to the COVID-19 pandemic. She was offered a job as
a teacher’s aide on the local Navy base. During the benefit weeks ending March 13
and 20, 2021, she remained at home. She filled out employment forms and watched
online programs regarding policies and procedures. She did not realize she was going
to be paid to do so, and she did not think of it as training for her job.

Ms. Cacacting testified that during the benefit week March 27, 2021, she attended
online training related to her work as a teacher’s aide at the Navy facility and reported
it as such. She further testified that for the benefit period the week of April 3, 2021
through April 24, 2021, she sometimes trained at home and sometimes went to the
on-site location for training. She testified she was a poor recordkeeper and likely
forgot to include the time she spent at home training in her claims submission. She
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also testified that she filled out her Ul claims submission on her telephone and it was
easy to get confused because she could not readily see the data she input.

She testified that the benefit week ending May 1, 2021 was her first week working
solely at the classroom on base. She agreed the Navy records provided to the Division
regarding her wages and work hours would be more accurate than her personal
report. However, she testified she simply made a mistake due to poor recordkeeping.

Division representative Christian Parker testified he concluded Ms. Cacacting
committed unemployment fraud on her UI claim submissions each week except March
27, 2021. For that week the report by Ms. Cacacting was close enough to her
employer’s report not to make a fraud finding, although an overpayment occurred as a
result of her error.!

Having heard her testimony at the hearing, he argued it was improbable Ms. Cacacting
was mistaken in good faith over how to report participating in the military on-board
programming the weeks March 7 and 14, 2021. Mr. Parker argued her testimony that
the error was the result of accidently failing to report time she spent in training due to
confusion about how to report was not credible because the claim submission asked if
she attended school or a training program during the week and she responded that
she had not.2

Mr. Parker pointed to the following facts to support the Division’s conclusion fraud
occurred during the benefit period the weeks ending April 3, 2021 through May 1,
2021. First, the Navy reported Ms. Cacacting worked six or more hours daily Monday
through Thursday the week of April 3, 2021. She did not work Friday that week.3 In
contrast, Ms. Cacacting claimed she worked 4 hours Monday, Tuesday, and
Wednesday. She did not report any work on Thursday.+

Second, the Navy reported Ms. Cacacting worked more than 6 hours daily Monday
through Friday the week of April 10, 2021.5 Ms. Cacacting, however, claimed to have
worked only 4 hours on Tuesday and 4 hours on Thursday. She failed to report work
three of the five days and her daily tallies were incorrect. Again, her testimony that
the error was the result of confusion due to working some hours and training some
hours was not credible because the claim submission asked if she attended school or
a training program during the week and she responded that she had not.®

Third, the Navy reported Ms. Cacacting worked more than 5 hours daily Monday
through Friday the week of April 17, 2021.7 She reported working 6 hours on Monday

C. Parker testimony.
Ex. 1, p. 49.

Id. at 8.

Id. at 51.

Id. at 8.

Id. at 56.

Id. at 8.
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and 6 hours on Friday. She failed to report three of her five days worked.8 She also
certified that she did not attend school or training.®

Next, the Navy reported Ms. Cacacting worked 5 hours or more every weekday except
Monday the week of April 24, 2021.10 She reported working 4 hours on Monday. She
also reported 4 hours for Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday, but claimed not to have
worked Thursday.!! She also certified that she did not attend school or training.12

Lastly, the Navy reported Ms. Cacacting worked 6 or more hours every weekday except
Thursday the week of May 1, 2021.13 However, she reported only working 4 hours on
Monday, Tuesday, and Friday.!4 She also certified that she did not attend school or
training.15

Mr. Parker argued the fact that Ms. Cacacting consistently reported her work as
approximately half her actual labor demonstrated a pattern inconsistent with an
honest mistake. Instead, it appeared to the Division that she intentionally under-
reported her work hours and wages to insure she would not exceed her excess earning
amount and lose all benefits. It also did not make sense to him that the Navy would
have her working in the classroom part of the time and returning home for training
rather than training on site. He found her testimony especially suspicious since each
contemporaneous claim week she denied training participation but explained the
missing hours as “training” at the hearing.16 Lastly, he argued that her testimony she
filed her claims by telephone to be at odds with other testimony she had a computer at
home for job training.

EXCERPTS OF RELEVANT PROVISIONS OF LAW

AS 23.20.387. Disqualification for misrepresentation.

€] An insured worker is disqualified for benefits for the week with respect to
which the false statement or misrepresentation was made and for an
additional period of not less than six weeks or more than 52 weeks if the
department determines that the insured worker has knowingly made a
false statement or misrepresentation of a material fact or knowingly failed
to report a material fact with intent to obtain or increase benefits under
this chapter. The length of the additional disqualification and the beginning
date of that disqualification shall be determined by the department
according to the circumstances in each case.

Id. at 65.
9 Id. at 63.
10 Id. at 8.
11 Id. at 72.
12 Id. at 70.
13 Id. at 8.

14 Id. at 79.
15 Id. at 77.
16 C. Parker testimony.
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(b) A person may not be disqualified from receiving benefits under this section
unless there is documented evidence that the person has made a false
statement or a misrepresentation as to a material fact or has failed to
disclose a material fact. Before a determination of fraudulent
misrepresentation or nondisclosure may be made, there must be a
preponderance of evidence of an intention to defraud, and the false
statement or misrepresentation must be shown to be knowing and to
involve a material fact.

AS 23.20.390. Recovery of improper payments; penalty.

(@ An individual who receives a sum as benefits from the unemployment
compensation fund when not entitled to it under this chapter is liable to
the fund for the sum improperly paid to the individual.

] In addition to the liability under (a) of this section for the amount of
benefits improperly paid, an individual who is disqualified from receipt of
benefits under AS 23.20.387 is liable to the department for a penalty in an
amount equal to 50 percent of the benefits that were obtained by
knowingly making a false statement or misrepresenting a material fact, or
knowingly failing to report a material fact, with the intent to obtain or
increase benefits under this chapter. The department may, under
regulations adopted under this chapter, waive the collection of a penalty
under this section. The department shall deposit into the general fund the
penalty that it collects.

8 AAC 85.380. Disqualification for misrepresentation

(a) A disqualification under AS 23.20.387 begins with the week in which the
department makes the determination of disqualification and may not exceed 52 weeks.
The period of disqualification is at least six weeks for each week affected by the false
statement, misrepresentation, or failure to report a material fact. Additional weeks of
disqualification will be imposed if the circumstances of the case require an increased
penalty

THE UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE FRAUD INVESTIGATION FRAMEWORK

An individual is eligible for unemployment compensation under Alaska labor law if
the individual’s employment is covered by the Alaska Employment Security Act
AESA, AS 23.20.005-535 as implemented in 8 AAC 85.010-842 and detailed in the
Department’s Benefit Policy Manual (BPM).17 Under those rules the employment
and training services division of the Department of Labor and Workforce

17 The BPM fulfills the mandate in 8 AAC 85.360 that the Department “maintain a policy
manual interpreting the provisions of AS 23.20 and this chapter.” The Alaska supreme court
has referred to the BPM as the “Precedent Manual” and looks to the BPM to interpret labor
issues. See, Calvert, supra; Westcott v. State, Dep’t of Labor, 996 P.2d 723 (Alaska 2000). The
BPM is divided into eight sections: Able and Available, Evidence, Labor Dispute, Miscellaneous
Misconduct, Suitable Work, Total and Partial Unemployment, and Voluntary Leaving with
individual subsections addressing specific issues and incorporating recent updates.
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Development conducts a two-part analysis of each claim filed by an unemployed
worker. The first step in the analysis is the “non-monetary determination” of
whether the claimant is eligible to for benefits.18 If the claimant is eligible, the
division conducts the second step and issues a “monetary determination”
calculating the benefit amount payable to the claimant.19

Benefit claimants are required to be accurate in their initial and weekly claims
submissions.20 Inaccuracies can lead to incorrect unemployment claims
determinations, including overpayment. Pursuant to AS 23.20.387(b), a person who
knowingly submits a material misrepresentation of fact?! or who knowingly fails to
provide material information commits statutory unemployment fraud and may be
assessed administrative penalties under AS 23.20.390.22 Those penalties include
repayment of overpaid benefits; payment of penalties; and disqualification from future
benefits.

The Division provides access to The Unemployment Insurance Claimant
Handbook (Handbook) to assist claimants in properly submitting claims.23 Pages
nine through eleven of the Handbook include definitions and instructions on how
to report work and wages.

Work is defined broadly to include: “Reportable work includes time spent on self-
employment or volunteer activities as well as anything you do for wages, whether
paid or not, during the seven days of the week you claim. Even if you are only
working part-time or temporarily, all work and earnings, including tips and
commission, must be reported when you file your biweekly certifications.”

Wages are also expansively defined as “any kind of payment you receive for the
work you do, including room and board, goods, barter, tips, commission, stipend,

18 8 AAC 85.010(a)(14); 8 AAC 85.085.

19 8 AAC 85.010(a)(12).

20 AS 23.20.340; AS 23.20.387; 8 AAC 85.104.

21 A material fact is one that is “relevant to the determination of the claimant’s right to
benefits. It need not actually affect the outcome of that determination.” Blas v. State, Dept. of
Labor and Workforce Development, Div. of Employment Sec., 331 P. 3d 363, 366 (Alaska 2014).
The failure to report earnings over $50.00 a week is always material. Department Policy and
Procedure Manual (DPM), Fraud or Misrepresentation, MS 340.1.C.b.

22 The Alaska supreme court held that “knowingly” as used in AS 23.20.387(b) requires
proof of subjective intent to defraud. Blas, 331 P.3d at 373-74. AS 23.20.387(b) does not
establish an objective, reasonable person standard. Whether the claimant had a subjective
intent to defraud is often a credibility determination. See, e.g., ARTEC Services v. Cummings,
295 P.3d 916 (Alaska 2013)(Worker’s Compensation Board determination that claimant did not
subjectively intend to defraud because she considered her unpaid work at an herbal store to be
a hobby was issue of credibility for the Board to determine.

23 Prior to March 2020, the Division reliably provided a hard-copy of the Handbook to all
claimants. Due to the exponential increase in unemployment assistance claims caused by the
COVID-19 pandemic, it can no longer be said that the Division provides a hard copy to each
claimant. However, the Handbook is available on-line at the Division’s website and a link
provided for electronic claim filers.
abor.alaska.gov/unemployment/documents/uihandbook.pdf
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honorarium, per diem, COLA, payment for jury duty, bonuses and back pay.”
The claimant is directed to “report the gross amount of any of the following
payments: vacation, holiday, sick, pension, retirement, severance, commission,
bonus, wages in lieu of notice and back pay awards” and that a deduction may
be taken from the weekly benefits based on receipt of any of these payments.

Applying these standards, the Division establishes a prima facie case of
unemployment fraud if it demonstrates the information in the claim filing is falsified.
Since 1979 the Division has applied a rebuttable presumption of intent to defraud if
the information in the claim filing is falsified. Once it is established that a claim
submission is inaccurate or falsified, the burden of proof shifts to the claimant to
establish lack of subjective intent to defraud.2*

Typically, all overpaid benefits must be repaid.25 Exceptions to repayment are set out
by regulation and can include certain good faith errors and financial hardship.26
However, if the error was fraudulently made a 50% penalty must be imposed.27

A person found to commit unemployment fraud will also be disqualified for receiving
future benefits for up to fifty-two weeks.28

APPLICATION

The Division established a prima facie case of unemployment fraud. It clearly
demonstrated material errors in Ms. Cacacting’ s claims submissions. Those errors
resulted in overpayment.

Ms. Cacacting’ s testimony that she did not knowingly provide the inaccurate
answers was not credible. The questions to her were not complicated. She was
asked if she worked for any employer and to list the hours she worked if she did
so. If hours were worked, she was asked to list her wages. Ms. Cacacting was
also asked if she participated in training during the benefit week.

Ms. Cacacting did not accurately submit her hours worked, wages, or training.
Ms. Cacacting’s answers each week but one were significantly different from the
information reported by her employer. The significant difference in hours and
dates between the reports demonstrates Ms. Cacacting consciously and
consistently understated her work hours and wages. The reasonable
conclusion from this evidence is that Ms. Cacacting consciously and

24 See e.g., In the Matter of J. Halat, Comm’r Dec. 19-0101 (Dept. of Labor and Workforce
Development 2019) citing In Re Morton, Com. Dec. Comm’r Dec. 19-0101 (Dept. of Labor and
Workforce Development 1979)(available on-line at
https://appeals.dol.alaska.gov/SearchRoot/comdecs)

25 AS 23.20.390.

26 8 AAC 85.220(b).

27 AS 23.20.390(b).
28 AS 23.20.387(a).
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intentionally withheld information to increase the likelihood she would receive
maximum benefits.

Accordingly, the Division met its burden of proof that an intentional
misrepresentation under AS 23.20.387 occurred.

DECISION

The June 28, 2021 Notice of Determination and Determination of Liability is
AFFIRMED.

e Claimant submitted an inaccurate fact or omitted a material fact in the
claims process.

e That portion of the determination holding that the claimant is liable for the
repayment of benefits is AFFIRMED. The claimant remains liable to the
fund for benefits she received to which she is not entitled.

e That portion of the determination holding that the claimant intentionally
submitted inaccurate information to obtain a benefit, i.e., statutory
unemployment fraud occurred, is AFFIRMED.

e The claimant remains liable to the fund for benefits received to which the
claimant was not entitled.

e A 50% penalty is imposed.

e A disqualification under AS 23.20.387 is imposed, and benefits are
denied for 42 weeks.

Carmen E. Clark
Administrative Law Judge

APPEAL RIGHTS

This decision is final unless an appeal is filed in writing to the Commissioner of Labor
and Workforce Development within 30 days after the decision is mailed to each party.
The appeal period may be extended only if the appeal is delayed for circumstances
beyond the party’s control. A statement of rights and procedures is enclosed.
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that on May 17, 2022, the foregoing decision was served on Russimone
Cacacting (by mail); Christian Parker (by email). A courtesy copy has been emailed to
the DETS UI Technical Team and Ul Appeals Team.

Office of Administrative Hearings
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Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Appeals to the Commissioner

Please read carefully the enclosed Appeal Tribunal decision. Any interested party (claimant
or the Division of Employment and Training Services [DETS]) may request that the
Commissioner accept an appeal against the decision (AS 23.20.430-435 and 8 AAC 85.154-
155).

A Commissioner appeal must be filed within 30 days after the Appeal Tribunal decision is
mailed to a party's last address of record. The 30-day period may be extended for areasonable
timeiftheappealing party showsthatthe appealwaslateduetocircumstances beyondthe party's
control.

A Commissioner appeal must be in writing and must fully explain your reason for the appeal.
You or your authorized representative must sign the appeal. All other parties will be sent a copy of
your appeal. Send Commissioner appeals to the Commissioner's Hearing Officer at the address
below.

A Commissioner appeal is a matter of right if the Appeal Tribunal decision reversed or modified a
DETS determination. If the Appeal Tribunal decision did not modify the DETS determination, the
Commissioner is not required to accept the appeal. If the appeal is accepted, the
Commissioner may affirm, modify, or reverse the Appeal Tribunal decision. The Commissioner
may also refer the matter back to the Appeal Tribunal for another hearing and/or a new decision.
The Commissioner will issue a written decision to all interested parties. The Commissioner
decision will include a statement about the right to appeal to Superior Court.

Any party may present written argument to the Commissioner stating why the Appeal Tribunal
decision should or should not be changed. Any party may also request to make an oral argument.
Written argument and/or a request for oral argument should be made when you file an appeal or
immediately after you receive notice that another party filed an appeal. You must supply a written
argument or a request for oral argument promptly, because neither will likely be considered after
the Commissioner issues a decision.

ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT
COMMISSIONER'S HEARING OFFICER

P.O0. BOX 115509 JUNEAU ALASKA 99811-5509

Phone: (800) 232-4762 E-mail: appeals@alaska.gov Fax: (907) 465-3374





