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after the claimant is notified in person of the determination or 
redetermination or not later than 30 days after the date the 
determination or redetermination is mailed to the claimant’s last 
address of record. The period for filing an appeal may be extended 
for a reasonable period if the claimant shows that the application 
was delayed as a result of circumstances beyond the claimant’s 
control. 

 
(f) If a determination of disqualification under AS 23.20.360, 

23.20.362, 23.20.375, 23.20.378 - 23.20.387, or 23.20.505 is made, 
the claimant shall be promptly notified of the determination and the 
reasons for it. The claimant and other interested parties as defined 
by regulations of the department may appeal the determination in 
the same manner prescribed in this chapter for appeals of initial 
determinations and redeterminations. Benefits may not be paid 
while a determination is being appealed for any week for which the 
determination of disqualification was made. However, if a decision on 
the appeal allows benefits to the claimant, those benefits must be 
paid promptly. 

 
8 AAC 85.151 provides in part;   

 
(b) An appeal may be filed with a referee, at any employment center, 

or at the central office of the division and, if filed in person, must 
be made on forms provided by the division. An appeal must be filed 
within 30 days after the determination or redetermination is 
personally delivered to the claimant or not later than 30 days after 
the date the determination or redetermination is mailed to the 
claimant’s last address of record. The 30-day time period will be 
computed under Rule 6 of the Rules of Civil Procedure. However, 
the 30-day period may be extended for a reasonable time if the 
claimant shows that the failure to file within this period was the 
result of circumstances beyond his or her control. 
 

CONCLUSION 
 
An appellant has the burden to establish some circumstance beyond the 
appellant’s control prevented the timely filing of the appeal.  

 
The purposes and policies of the Act are not served by a strict application of 
the procedural requirements to the detriment of a person the statute is 
intended to serve, especially when no apparent prejudice would otherwise 
be caused to the Department.  Estes v. Department of Labor, 625 P.2d 293 
(Alaska 1981). 
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The claimant filed his appeal upon learning of the determination and that the 
determination concerned a specific week which was denied for different reason 
that the previous and following weeks into March. 
 
As in Estes, there is apparent prejudice caused to the Department and the 
claimant was dealing with multiple issues.  
 

DECISION 
 

The claimant’s appeal from the notice of determination issued on  
February 14, 2023 is ACCEPTED as timely filed. 
 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 
The claimant established a claim for unemployment insurance benefits effective 
January15, 2023. During the week February 5, 2023 through  
February 11, 2023, the claimant had difficulty with his MyAlaska account. He 
made multiple calls to the Division but did not get through to speak to 
someone. He tried multiple computers to gain access and file his certification 
for the week ending February 4, 2023.  
 
On or about February 14, 2023, the was able to speak to a representative, who 
advised him on how to regain access to his MyAlaska account. The claimant 
filed for the week ending February 11, 2023 and February 4, 2023 on  
February 14, 2023. 
 
 

PROVISIONS OF LAW 
 
AS 23.20.375. Filing requirements 
 

(a)  An insured worker is entitled to receive waiting-week credit or 
benefits for a week of unemployment for which the insured worker 
has not been disqualified under AS 23.20.360, 23.20.362, 
23.20.378 - 23.20.387, or 23.20.505 if, in accordance with 
regulations adopted by the department, the insured worker has 

 
    (1)  made an initial claim for benefits; and 
    (2)  for that week, certified for waiting-week credit or made a 

claim for benefits. 
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8 AAC 85.102 Intrastate filing: continued claims 
 
          (a)  An intrastate claimant located in this state is eligible for waiting 

week credit or benefits for a week if the claimant  
 

 (1)  files a continued claim for the week as required in this 
section; and  

 (2)  meets all requirements of AS 23.20 and this chapter.  
 

          (b)  A claimant shall file a continued claim with an unemployment 
insurance claim center of the division by  

 
 (1)  an electronic means designated by the director;  
 (2)  telephone; or  
 (3)  mail, with the prior approval of the director.  
 

          (c)  A continued claim for a week is filed when an unemployment 
insurance claim center of the division receives a certification for a 
continued claim.  

          (d) The filing date of a continued claim filed by mail is the postmark 
date of the mailing of the completed claim form.  

          (e)  The date of filing of a continued claim filed by telephone is the date 
that the claimant accesses the telephone filing system and 
provides claim information for the week using the claimant's 
personal identification number.  

          (f)  For each week claimed, the claimant shall answer specific 
eligibility questions and shall certify to the truthfulness and 
completeness of the answers.  

          (g) A continued claim for a week may not be filed before the end of the 
week claimed. A continued claim may not be filed later than seven 
calendar days after the end of the week claimed, except that  

 
 (1)  if the director authorizes the filing of bi-weekly claims, the 

claim may not be filed later than seven days after the end of 
the bi-weekly period authorized by the director;  

 (2)  a claim for benefits for a week of partial unemployment may 
not be filed later than seven days after the claimant receives 
wages for that week.  

 
          (h)  The director shall extend the time allowed in (g) of this section for 

filing a continued claim if the claimant has good cause for filing a 
late claim and the claimant files the claim as soon as possible 
under the circumstances.  

          (i)  For the purposes of (h) of this section, "good cause" means 
circumstances beyond a claimant's control that the division 
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determines leave the claimant with no reasonable choice but to 
delay filing the claim; "good cause" includes illness or disability of 
the claimant, processing delays within the division, or failure of the 
division to provide sufficient or correct information to the claimant 
in order to file a continued claim. 

 
CONCLUSION 

 
Regulation 8 AAC 85.102(i) provides that good cause includes illness or 
disability of the claimant, processing delays within the division, or failure of the 
division to provide sufficient or correct information to the claimant in order to 
file a continued claim. 
 
In this case, the claimant suffered processing or access delays, including 
contact delays by telephone, to file his weekly claim certifications. The 
circumstances were beyond his control. Therefore, good cause for filing late has 
been shown. 
 

DECISION 
 
The determination issued on February 14, 2023 is REVERSED. Benefits are 
allowed for the week ending February 4, 2023, if otherwise eligible. 
 

APPEAL RIGHTS 
 
This decision is final unless an appeal is filed to the Commissioner of Labor 
and Workforce Development within 30 days after the decision is mailed to each 
party. The appeal period may be extended only if the appeal is delayed for 
circumstances beyond the party's control. A statement of appeal rights and 
procedures is enclosed. 
 
Dated and mailed on April 19, 2023. 
 
             
       Tom Mize 
 
                                                           Tom Mize 
       Appeals Officer 
 






