ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD
P.O. Box 25512 Juneau, Alaska 99802‑5512
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)
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)
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)
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)



)


We met in Juneau, Alaska on our regularly scheduled hearing date to consider a petition for Second Injury Fund (SIF) coverage.  Petitioner is represented by attorneys James R. Webb, Charles D. Broderick and Michael A. Barcott.  The SIF is represented by Richard G. Austerman, the SIF Administrator.  By agreement, the petition was submitted for our consideration on written legal memoranda.  The record closed on 25 May 1989 upon conclusion of our deliberations.


In June 1983 Employee sustained a work‑related injury.  Employee's doctor reported that the tissue supporting Employee's bladder had prolapsed, and a cystourethrocele was diagnosed.  Employee returned to work in December 1983 after surgical repair of the injury.  She was paid about 18 weeks of disability compensation as a result of her first injury and surgery.  Employee was reinjured on 14 June 1984 while lifting a mattress, and surgery was performed again.  In September 1988 we determined Employee was permanently totally disabled.


Petitioners assert they are entitled to SIF coverage under AS 23.30.205(d)(2).  Respondent denied coverage on the ground the impairment Employee sustained as a result of her first injury would support a rating of only about 18 weeks of disability, not 200 weeks as the statute requires.

The parties entered into the following stipulation:

If the Alaska Workers' Compensation Board concludes that the employee, Maribelle Peterson, suffered a permanent disability as the result of the June 14, 1984 injury, the only issue which need be addressed by the Alaska Workers' Compensation Board to determine whether or not the Second Injury Fund should be responsible for payment of the employee's disability stemming from the June 14, 1984 injury is whether under AS 23.30.204(d)(2) to constitute a pre‑existing disability the employer must have actually paid 200 weeks of disability resulting from the first injury or whether it is sufficient under that section that 200 weeks of disability would have resulted from the first injury.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

AS 23.30.205 provides in pertinent part:

(a) if an employee who has a permanent physical impairment from any cause or origin incurs a subsequent disability by injury arising out of and in the course of the employment resulting in compensation liability for disability that is substantially greater by reason of the combined effects of the preexisting impairment and subsequent injury or by reason of the aggravation of the preexisting impairment than that which would have resulted from the subsequent injury along, the employer or the insurance carrier shall in the first instance pay all awards of compensation provided by this chapter, but the employer or the insurance carrier shall be reimbursed from the second injury fund for all compensation payments subsequent to those payable for the first 104 weeks of disability.

. . . .

(c) In order to qualify under this section for reimbursement from the second injury fund, the employer must establish by written records that the employer had knowledge of the permanent physical impairment before the subsequent injury and that the employee was hired or retained in employment after the employer acquired that knowledge.

(d) in this section, "permanent physical impairment" means any permanent condition, whether congenital or due to injury or disease, of such seriousness as to constitute a hindrance or obstacle to obtaining employment or to obtaining reemployment if the employee should become unemployed.  A condition may not be considered a "permanent physical impairment" unless

(1) it is one of the following conditions:

. . . .

or

(2) it would support a rating of disability of 200 weeks or more if evaluated according to standards applied in compensation claims.

8 AAC 45.186(e) provides:

(e) in order to satisfy the 200‑week rating requirement of AS 23.30.205(d)(2), a condition must qualify for an award of compensation of 200 weeks or more under AS 
23.30.190. A disabling condition does not automatically satisfy AS 23.30.205(d) (2) merely because it is permanent is quality.


AS 23.30.190 concerns the payment of permanent partial disability (PPD) compensation.  AS 23.30.190(a) (1)‑(18) sets out a schedule for payment of PPD compensation based upon the body part or function lost.  PPD compensation is also payable for unscheduled disabilities, that is, disabilities which are not listed in AS 23.30.190(a)(l)‑(18). Unscheduled PPD compensation may be paid under AS 23.30.190(a)(19) or (20) which provide in pertinent part:

(19) in addition to other allowable compensation, the board shall award proper and equitable compensation up to $10,000 for

. . . .

(B) partial or total loss of or loss of use of a part or function of the body not otherwise provided for under this section;

(20) in all other cases in this class of disability the compensation is 80 percent of the difference between the spendable weekly wages of the employee and the wage‑earning capacity of the employee after the injury in the same employment or otherwise, payable during the continuance of the partial disability, but subject to modification by the board on its own 
motion or upon application of a party in interest; whenever the board determines that it is in the interest of justice, the liability of the employer for compensation, or any part of it as determined by the board, may be discharged by the payment of a lump sum;


In order to qualify for SIF reimbursement, the employer must demonstrate that it had knowledge of a qualifying “permanent physical impairment" before the subsequent injury, and that the employee was hired or retained in employment after the employer acquired the knowledge.  AS 23.30.205(c). If the injured employee's permanent physical impairment is not among those listed in Sec. 205 (d) (1) , a subsequent employer may nevertheless establish entitlement to SIF reimbursement if the permanent physical impairment would "support a rating of disability of 200 weeks or more....” (AS 23.30.205(d)(2), emphasis added.)


"Impairment" is a medical term concerning a person's physical limitations.  For the purposes of the Alaska Workers' Compensation Act (AWCA) , "disability" means incapacity because of injury to earn the wages the employee was receiving at the time of injury in the same or any other employment.  AS 23.30.265(10). In determining if a "permanent physical impairment' would "support a rating of disability of 200 weeks or more" under Sec. 205(d)(2), we have calculated the duration of the economic disability by analyzing the disability compensation paid and the compensation rate.  When disability compensation was paid in a lump sum settlement, we determined that the lump sum amount, divided by the weekly compensation rate, yields the number of weeks of disability. LaMoureaux v. State of Alaska, Second Injury Fund, AWCB D&O No. 81‑0189 (7 July 1981), Davis v. State of Alaska, Second Injury Fund, AWCB D&O No. 85‑0167 (13 June 1985).


Employee's June 1983 injury, diagnosed as a cystourethrocele, is not one of the conditions listed under Sec. 205(d)(1).  Therefore, as provided in 8 AAC 45.186 (e) , Employer must show that the condition qualified for an award of 200 or more weeks of PPD compensation under Sec. 190, in order to qualify for SIF reimbursement.  Petitioner has cited evidence from one of Employee's treating physicians which indicates that without surgery, Employee would have had lifting restrictions of about 10 pounds and a permanent physical disability.  Nevertheless, Employee's condition was surgically repaired after her June 1983 injury and she was able to return to work after about 18 weeks.


Through their stipulation the parties have sought our determination of a limited legal issue which must be resolved before they can resolve the issue of Employer's entitlement to SIF reimbursement.  We believe the parties could have saved their time and ours by presenting the entitlement issue, rather than the narrow legal issue, to us.


When considering whether a condition would support a rating of 200 or more weeks of disability under Sec. 204(d)(2) , both scheduled and unscheduled "disability" must be considered under Sec. 190. 8 AAC 45.186(e). Entitlement to unscheduled PPD compensation under sections 190(a)(19)(B) or 190(a)(20) may also form the basis for SIF coverage.  Unscheduled PPD compensation is payable when a permanent physical impairment results in economic disability.  The actual duration of the economic disability is an important factor to consider when determining if an injury has resulted in a qualifying disability for the purposes of Sec. 205(d)(2).  We have previously determined that in the case of a lump sum settlement of unscheduled PPD compensation, the duration of the disability may be determined by dividing the lump sum payment by the weekly compensation benefit.  In the case now under consideration, however, the attempted surgical correction of employee's injury allowed her to return to work with no loss of earnings after about 18 weeks, and there was no lump sum payment of disability compensation.


The purpose of the SIF is to encourage employers to hire and retain partially disabled employees.  When interpreting the SIF statute, we are to keep this objective in mind. Employees Commercial Union Ins. Group v. Christ, 513 P.2d 1090, 1093 (Alaska 1973), Sea‑Land Services v. Second Injury Fund, 737 P.2d 793, 795 (Alaska 1987).  Petitioner argues that a requirement that 200 weeks of disability compensation must have actually been paid, is contrary to the purpose of the SIF.  We agree. such, a prerequisite to coverage could discourage employers from employing or retaining an injured worker until that worker has been disabled for 200 weeks.


We conclude that it is not necessary that an employer have actually paid 200 weeks of disability compensation as a result of the first injury for it to be a qualifying injury under sec. 205(d)(2). it is sufficient that the employee had a disability supporting a rating" of 200 weeks of disability.  The SIF administrator may consider other evidence which is relevant to the rating the particular disability would support.  Both economic and medical evidence should be considered.  The fact that Employee was able to return to work at her usual employment, after surgery, in less than 200 weeks, does not necessarily mean that the injury may not qualify under Sec. 205(d) (2), although it is strong evidence that it does not qualify.


In their stipulation, the parties imply we are to determine if Employee suffered a permanent disability as a result of her June 1984 injury.  In our previous D&O we determined Employee was permanently totally disabled, subsequent to her June 1984 injury and resulting second surgery.  The parties may have intended to refer to the June 1983 injury rather than the June 1984 injury.  Regardless, the parties have not argued that issue before us.  We decline to enter any additional order at this time concerning the existence of a permanent disability.


If the parties are unable to agree about SIF coverage in this case, the entire matter should be presented to us for a determination of Petitioner's entitlement to that coverage.

ORDER

The parties shall submit Petitioner's claim for reimbursement from the Second Injury Fund to us for resolution in the event they are unable to resolve the dispute by stipulation.


DATED at Juneau, Alaska this 20th day of June, 1989.

ALASKA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BOARD

/s/ L.N. Lair
Lawson N. Lair, Designated Chairman

/s/ DwRichards
David W. Richards, Member

/s/ Thomas Chandler
Thomas W. Chandler, Member

LNL:wjp

APPEAL PROCEDURES

A compensation order may be appealed through proceedings in superior Court brought by a party in interest against the Board and all other parties to the proceedings before the Board, as provided in the Rules of Appellate Procedure of the State of Alaska.

A compensation order becomes effective when filed in the office of the Board, and unless proceedings to appeal it are instituted, it becomes final on the 31st day after it is filed.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true and correct copy of the Decision and Order in the matter of Maribelle Peterson, Employee/Applicant; V. Alaska Marine Highway (Self‑insured), Employer/Petitioner; and State of Alaska, Second Injury Fund, Respondent; Case No. 412723; dated and filed in the office of the Alaska Workers' Compensation Board at Juneau, Alaska, this 20tb day of June, 1989.
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