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ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD

PRIVATE 

P.O. Box 25512







Juneau, Alaska 99802-5512

CHERI A. HEATHMAN,
)



)


Employee,
)


  Applicant,
)
DECISION AND ORDER



)


v.
)
AWCB Case No. 9132093



)

VALLEY TAXI & TOUR,
)
AWCB Decision No. 93-0123



)


and
)
Filed with AWCB Anchorage



)
May 20, 1993

BRUCE WAGONER,
)

(Uninsured)

)



)


Employer,
)


  Defendant.
)

________________________________________)


We heard this request for a supplementary order of default in Anchorage, Alaska on May 6, 1993.  The employee was present and represented herself.  The employer did not appear or otherwise contact us.  We reviewed the record, finding that the hearing notice had been sent to the employer at its last known address.  Further, the employee testified she recently received W‑2 tax forms from the employer at that same mailing address. (Hearing Exhibit 1).  On these bases, we proceeded with the hearing.  AS 23.30.110(c); 8 AAC 45.070(f)(1).


ISSUE

Whether to issue a supplementary order of default under AS 23.30.170.


FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

AS 23.30.170 states:


(a)  In case of default by the employer in the payment of compensation due under an award of compensation for a period of 30 days after the compensation is due, the person to whom the compensation is payable may, within one year after the default, apply to the board making the compensation order for a supplementary order declaring the amount of the default.  After investigation, notice, and hearing, as provided in AS 23.30.110, the board shall make a supplementary order declaring the amount of the default.  The order shall be filed in the same manner as the compensation order.


(b) If the payment in default is an installment of the award, the board may, in its discretion, declare the whole of the award as the amount in default.  The applicant may file a certified copy of the supplementary order with the clerk of the superior court.  The supplementary order is final.  The court shall, upon the filing of the copy, enter judgment for the amount declared in default by the supplementary order if it is in accordance with law.  Any time after a supplementary order by the board, the attorney general, when requested to do so by the commissioner, shall take appropriate action to assure collection of the defaulted payments.


(c) Review of the judgment may be had as in a civil action for damages.  Final proceedings to execute the judgment may be had by a writ of execution.  The court shall modify the judgment to conform to a later compensation order upon presentation of a certified copy of it to the court.


On October 9, 1992 we issued a decision in this matter.  In it, we ordered the uninsured employer to pay the employee $340.10 in medical costs.  At the May 6, 1993 hearing, the employee testified she has not received any of the payment from the employer or its owner, Bruce Wagoner.  We find more than 30 days have passed, and Mr. Wagoner has failed to pay the employee as required in the October 9, 1992 order.  Therefore, we find the employer and its owner, Bruce Wagoner, are in default under AS 23.30.170(a).  We find the amount of the default is $340.10.


As required by AS 23.30.170(a), we will make a supplementary order declaring Bruce Wagoner, owner of Valley Taxi and Tour, in default of $340.10. If she wishes to pursue this matter further, the employee should proceed in accordance with AS 23.30.170(b).  This usually entails going to Alaska Superior Court and filing a motion for entry of judgment.


ORDER

1. Bruce Wagoner, the owner of Valley Taxi and Tour, is in default of $340.10, the amount he was ordered to pay under our October 9, 1992 decision.


2. The employee's petition to get a supplementary order of default is granted.  The supplementary order is attached.


Dated at Anchorage, Alaska this 20th day of May, 1993.



ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD



 /s/ M.R. Torgerson


M.R. Torgerson,



Designated Chairman



 /s/ S.T. Hagedorn


S.T. Hagedorn, Member


If compensation is payable under terms of this decision, it is due on the date of issue and penalty of 25 percent will accrue if not paid within 14 days of the due date unless an interlocutory order staying payment is obtained in Superior Court.


APPEAL PROCEDURES

A compensation order may be appealed through proceedings in Superior Court brought by a party in interest against the Board and all other parties to the proceedings before the Board, as provided in the Rules of Appellate Procedure of the State of Alaska.


A compensation order becomes effective when filed in the office of the Board, and unless proceedings to appeal it are instituted, it becomes final on the 31st day after it is filed.


CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true and correct copy of the Decision and Order in the matter of Cheri A. Heathman, employee / applicant; v. Valley Taxi and Tour and Bruce Wagoner, employer (uninsured), defendant; Case No. 9132093; dated and filed in the office of the Alaska Workers' Compensation Board in Anchorage, Alaska, this 20th day of May, 1993.



Dwayne Townes, Clerk

jrw
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CHERI A. HEATHMAN,
)



)


Employee,
)


  Applicant,
)
SUPPLEMENTAL ORDER



)
         OF DEFAULT


v.
)



)
AWCB Case No. 9132093

VALLEY TAXI & TOUR,
)



)
AWCB Decision No. 93-0123


and
)



)
Filed with AWCB Anchorage

BRUCE WAGONER,
)
May 20, 1993

(Uninsured)

)



)


Employer,
)


  Defendant.
)

________________________________________)


By application of the employee, and in accordance with AS 23.30.110, AS 23.30.170, and our May 20, 1993 decision and order, we find Valley Taxi and Tour, and Bruce Wagoner in default as follows:


1.Medical benefits in the amount of $340.10.


Dated at Anchorage, Alaska this 20th of May, 1993.



ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD



 /s/ M.R. Torgerson


M.R. Torgerson,



Designated Chairman



 /s/ S.T. Hagedorn


S.T. Hagedorn, Member


If compensation is payable under terms of this decision, it is due on the date of issue and penalty of 25 percent will accrue if not paid within 14 days of the due date unless an interlocutory order staying payment is obtained in Superior Court.


APPEAL PROCEDURES

A compensation order may be appealed through proceedings in Superior Court brought by a party in interest against the Board and all other parties to the proceedings before the Board, as provided in the Rules of Appellate Procedure of the State of Alaska.


A compensation order becomes effective when filed in the office of the Board, and unless proceedings to appeal it are instituted, it becomes final on the 31st day after it is filed.


CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true and correct copy of the Decision and Order in the matter of Cheri A. Heathman, employee / applicant; v. Valley Taxi and Tour and Bruce Wagoner, employer (uninsured), defendant; Case No. 9132093; dated and filed in the office of the Alaska Workers' Compensation Board in Anchorage, Alaska, this 20th day of May, 1993.



Dwayne Townes, Clerk
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