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ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD

P.O. Box 115512
Juneau, Alaska 99811-5512

	WARREN D. GARDEPE, 

                                                   Employee, 

                                                     Applicant,

                                                   v. 

MUNICIPALITY OF ANCHORAGE,

(Self-Insured)

                                                  Employer,

                                                      Defendant.

	)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)
	FINAL DECISION AND ORDER

AWCB Case No.  200124699M, 200004113
AWCB Decision No.  06-0037

Filed with AWCB Anchorage, Alaska

on February  17, 2006


The Alaska Workers’ Compensation Board (Board) heard the employee’s Petition on January 26, 2006, at Anchorage, Alaska.  The employee represented himself; adjuster Marilyn Lehman represented the employer.  The record closed at the conclusion of the hearing.


ISSUE
Whether a penalty is due under AS 23.30.155(e) or interest is due under 8 AAC 45.142.  


SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE
The following recitation of facts is limited to those necessary for us to decide the very narrow issue before us, listed above.  According to his March 1, 2000 Report of Occupational Injury (ROI), the employee injured his low back on February 28, 2000 while shoveling snow working for the employer.  According to his December 17, 2001 ROI, the employee asserts he aggravated his left knee on December 11, 2001.  The employer immediately doubted the validity of the knee claim in the ROI noting the injury happened at the employee’s home.  All benefits for the left knee were officially controverted on January 7, 2002, based on notes from the employee’s treating physician.   

The employer accepted the employee’s back claim and paid benefits according to the Act.  Ms. Lehman testified that at some time between 2000 and 2005 the employee’s back claim was considered closed and sent to storage.  According to the employee’s documents, it appears that the employee submitted to the employer’s adjuster prescription bills and a mileage log beginning December 30, 2004, on March 21, 2005.  Ms. Lehman testified that she asked to the employee to separate the prescriptions and mileage claims for those for the back, only.  The employee sought treatment again on June 2, 2005.  The employee filed the present workers compensation claim on July 12, 2005.  Ms. Lehman testified that she spoke to the employee in August and requested he separate the claims to include back treatment only.  The employee acknowledged other treatments were included, some of which were for the employee’s knee condition.  The employee provided Ms. Lehman an itemized, back only list/log at the September 6, 2005 prehearing conference.  Ms. Lehman paid the requested prescription and mileage reimbursements on September 7, 2005.  The employee testified he was very frustrated with the process of getting his reimbursements.  


FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
AS 23.30.155(e) provides in pertinent part:  “If any installment of compensation payable without an award is not paid within seven days after it becomes due, a. . . there shall be added to the unpaid installment an amount equal to 25 percent of the unpaid installment.”  AS 23.30.097(g) provides in pertinent part:  

Unless the employer controverts a charge, the employer shall reimburse an employee’s prescription charges under this chapter within 30 days after the employer receives the health care provider’s completed report and an itemization of the prescription charges for the employee.  Unless the employer controverts a charge, an employer shall reimburse any transportation expenses for medical treatment under this chapter within 30 days after the employer receives the health care provider’s completed report and an itemization of the dates, destination, and transportation expenses for each date of travel for medical treatment.

We find the employer had a valid controversion regarding the employee’s 2001 knee claim.  We find the employer had the right and responsibility to ensure it was reimbursing the employee only for treatment or transportation related to his back.  The record does not indicate the employee ever provided a completed provider report.  The employee acknowledged that he in fact had listed some treatment for his knee condition.  We find the employer finally received a properly itemized list/log on September 6, 2005.  We find the employer timely reimbursed the employee on September 7, 2005.  We conclude the employee’s claim for penalties and interest must be denied and dismissed.  


ORDER
The employee’s claim for penalties and interest are denied and dismissed.  

Dated at Anchorage, Alaska on February  17, 2006.






ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD






Darryl Jacquot,






Designated Chairman






Scott Bridges, Member






Linda Hutchings, Member

APPEAL PROCEDURES
This compensation order is a final decision.  It becomes effective when filed in the office of the Board unless proceedings to appeal it are instituted.  Effective November 7, 2005 proceedings to appeal must be instituted in the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Appeals Commission within 30 days of the filing of this decision and be brought by a party in interest against the Board and all other parties to the proceedings before the Board. If a request for reconsideration of this final decision is timely filed with the Board, any proceedings to appeal must be instituted within 30 days after the reconsideration decision is mailed to the parties or within 30 days after the date the reconsideration request is considered denied due to the absence of any action on the reconsideration request, whichever is earlier. AS 23.30.127

An appeal may be initiated by filing with the office of the Appeals Commission: (1) a signed notice of appeal specifying the board order appealed from and 2) a statement of the grounds upon which the appeal is taken.  A cross-appeal may be initiated by filing with the office of the Appeals Commission a signed notice of cross-appeal within 30 days after the board decision is filed or within 15 days after service of a notice of appeal, whichever is later.  The notice of cross-appeal shall specify the board order appealed from and the grounds upon which the cross-appeal is taken.  AS 23.30.128

RECONSIDERATION
A party may ask the Board to reconsider this decision by filing a petition for reconsideration under AS 44.62.540 and in accordance with 8 AAC 45.050.  The petition requesting reconsideration must be filed with the Board within 15 days after delivery or mailing of this decision.

MODIFICATION
Within one year after the rejection of a claim, or within one year after the last payment of benefits under AS 23.30.180, 23.30.185, 23.30.190, 23.30.200, or 23.30.215, a party may ask the Board to modify this decision under AS 23.30.130 by filing a petition in accordance with 8 AAC 45.160 and 8 AAC 45.050.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true and correct copy of the Final Decision and Order in the matter of WARREN D. GARDEPE employee / applicant; v. MUNICIPALITY OF ANCHORAGE (Self-Insured) employer / defendant; Case Nos. 200124699, 200004113; dated and filed in the office of the Alaska Workers' Compensation Board in Anchorage, Alaska, on February 17, 2006.  






Joy Tuttle, Clerk
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