In re: MARK HIXSON dba THE OUTBOARD SHOP
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ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD


P.O. Box 115512


Juneau, Alaska 99811-5512

	IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION 

FOR A FINDING OF THE FAILURE TO

INSURE WORKERS' COMPENSATION 

LIABILITY AND ASSESSMENT OF CIVIL

PENALTY AGAINST:
MARK HIXSON dba 

THE OUTBOARD SHOP,

                                     Uninsured Employer,

                                                  Respondent.
	)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)
	FINAL DECISION AND ORDER

AWCB Case No. 700002005
AWCB Decision No. 07-0197 

Filed with AWCB in Juneau, Alaska

on July 12, 2007.


We heard the Petition for Finding of Failure to Insure and Assessment of Civil Penalties against the employer for failure to carry workers’ compensation insurance, on June 12, 2007, at Juneau, Alaska. The employer Mark Hixson dba The Outboard Shop represented himself. Paul Grossi, Investigator for the Fraud Investigation Section of the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, represented the State of Alaska. We closed the record at the conclusion of the hearing on June 12, 2007. 


ISSUES
1.
Has the employer failed to provide workers' compensation liability insurance to cover its employees, pursuant to AS 23.30.075 and AS 23.30.085(a)?

2.
Shall we assess a civil penalty against the employer for failure to insure, under AS 23.30.080(f)? 

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE

Investigator Paul Grossi  testified that during a routine records check of the Division’s database he discovered evidence that the employer did not have workers’ compensation insurance. He testified that the employer, once notified, obtained insurance in February 2007.
   Mr. Grossi further testified that the employer had been the subject of an accusation in May 2005, but that the Division withdrew the accusation after the employer obtained insurance. Mr. Grossi testified that NCCI database records indicated the employer has had numerous prior lapses of insurance. Mr. Grossi further testified that the employer’s insurance classification 3632 (machine shop work) has a rate multiplier of $10.46 per $100 of wages, indicating a moderate risk of injury. 

The Investigator submitted a report from the National Council on Compensation Insurance, Inc. (“NCCI”) database, indicating that Liberty Northwest Insurance Company had issued an insurance policy for the period May 21, 2006 through May 21, 2007, but this policy was cancelled for non-payment of premium effective May 21, 2006. Apparently, the employer never paid premium on the policy, or never renewed the policy.
   Evidence of current coverage from February 15, 2007 through February 15, 2008 was presented.
 

The file reflects that the Investigator filed with the Board and served on the employer a Petition for Finding a Failure to Insure Under AS 23.30.075, issuance of a Stop Order under AS 23.30.080(d), and Assessment of a Civil Penalty under AS 23.30.080(f),
 and a Discovery Demand,
 by certified mail on January 12, 2007. The Petition gave notice that the employer was potentially subject to civil penalties.

On April 24, 2007, the Investigator served on the employer an Affidavit of Readiness for Hearing together with a Notice of Evidence to be Introduced at Hearing (with six exhibits marked for identification).
   An additional document was offered at the hearing, entitled “Uninsured Employer Investigation Summary.”  No objection has been received to the Investigator’s Affidavit of Readiness or the evidence offered, either before or at the hearing, and the exhibits and summary were received into evidence. 

The file does not reflect that the employer was served a notice of the hearing, but the employer appeared and so we proceeded to hear the petition.  

The employer testified that he contemplated closing the business and so did not renew the insurance. When he decided to continue the business, he asked Liberty Mutual to renew, but the company would not renew without completion of an audit report from the insurance company, which the employer could not find. Mr. Hixson testified that he just got busy and forgot to follow-up and get the audit report to his bookkeeper for completion. He described his business as providing tune-ups and repairs of outboard motors, including replacing engine parts, and making adjustments to the running outboard engines.
  

The Investigator requested we find the employer had failed to insure its employees from May 21, 2006 through February 14, 2007, find that the employer had three (3) employees, and that the employer was uninsured for 186 employee work days. Because the employer had been cooperative, but also had a history of past lapses in insurance, the investigator asked that we consider assessing penalties in range of $20 to $30 per uninsured employee work day, citing certain Board cases including the decisions of In re The Music Source, LLC
  and In re Mary Barragan dba Pizza Express.
  Investigator Grossi requested that we order monitoring of the employer for compliance with workers’ compensation requirements for a period of one year. 

The employer admitted the period of uninsured employment, and requested that he be permitted to pay any penalty in installments of up to $500 per month.


FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
I.
FAILURE TO FILE PROOF OF INSURANCE

The duty of an employer to file evidence of compliance with the workers’ compensation insurance requirement is set forth in AS 23.30.085:

(a)  An employer subject to this chapter, unless exempted, shall initially file evidence of his compliance with the insurance provisions of this chapter with the division, in the form prescribed by the director. The employer shall also give evidence of compliance within 10 days after the termination of the employer’s insurance by expiration or cancellation. These requirements do not apply to an employer who has certification from the board of the employer’s financial ability to pay compensation directly without insurance.

(b)  If an employer fails, refuses, or neglects to comply with the provision of this section, the employer shall be subject to the penalties provided in AS 23.30.070 . . . .

We find our administrative records, the exhibits, and the hearing testimony show that the employer failed to show evidence of compliance with the workers' compensation insurance requirement from May 21, 2006 through February 14, 2007.  Although this employer clearly had opportunity to file evidence of compliance, we received no evidence of insurance for that period. 

Based on the consistent evidence of the hearing record, we find the employer failed to file evidence of compliance for the period from May 21, 2006 through February 14, 2007. We conclude the employer was in violation of AS 23.30.085(a) for that period of time. We also conclude the employer is subject to the penalties provided in AS 23.30.070 for any possible claims of injury arising during the period in which it is in violation of AS 23.30.085.

II.
FAILURE TO INSURE

AS 23.30.075 provides, in part:

(a)  An employer under this chapter, unless exempted, shall either insure and keep insured for the employer’s liability under this chapter in an insurance company or association . . . or shall furnish the division satisfactory proof of the employer’s financial ability to pay directly the compensation provided for . . . .

(b)  If an employer fails to insure and keep insured employees subject to this chapter or fails to obtain a certificate of self-insurance from the division, upon conviction, the court shall impose a fine of $10,000, and may impose a sentence of imprisonment for not more than one year. If an employer is a corporation, all persons who, at the time of the injury or death, had authority to insure the corporation or apply for a certificate of self-insurance, and the person actively in charge of the business of the corporation shall be subject to the penalties prescribed in this subsection and shall be personally, jointly, and severally liable. . . .

 AS 23.30.080(d) provides, in part:

The failure of an employer to file evidence of compliance as required by AS 23.30.085 creates a rebuttable presumption that the employer has failed to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075. . . .

The employer has a general duty to provide workers' compensation insurance for its employees. Based on our administrative records and the hearing testimony, we find the employer had employees and is subject to the Alaska Workers' Compensation Act. We conclude it has an ongoing duty under AS 23.30.075 to insure any employees for workers’ compensation benefits. 

Based on the employer's failure to provide evidence of compliance we find that we must presume, as a matter of law that the employer has failed to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075. The employer has provided no evidence to rebut that presumption. Based on our administrative records and the testimony of the employer, we find this employer employed employees without workers compensation insurance for the time period of May 21, 2006 through February 14, 2007, with a total of 186 employee work days during the uninsured period of time.

We conclude the employer failed to insure its employees, and was in violation of AS 23.30.075(a) from May 21, 2006 through February 14, 2007. Under AS 23.30.075(b), we conclude the employer is directly liable for benefits under the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act for any possible claims arising during the period in which it was in violation of AS 23.30.075.

III.
STOP ORDER

When an employer subject to the requirement of AS 23.30.075 fails to comply, we may issue a stop order prohibiting the use of employee labor. AS 23.30.080(d) provides:

If an employer fails to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075, the board may issue a stop order at the request of the division prohibiting the use of employee labor by the employer until the employer insures or provides security as required by AS 23.30.075. The failure of an employer to file evidence of compliance as required by AS 23.30.085 creates a rebuttable presumption that the employer has failed to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075. If an employer fails to comply with a stop order issued under this section, the board shall assess a civil penalty of $1,000 a day. The employer may not obtain a public contract with the state or a political subdivision of the state for three years following the violation of the stop order.

We found above that the employer has failed to insure or provide security for workers’ compensation coverage of its employees, as required by AS 23.30.075. The provisions of AS 23.30.080(d) give us the discretion to consider issuing a stop work order, prohibiting the employer from using employee labor within the territorial jurisdiction of the State of Alaska. Although this employer clearly had ample opportunity to secure insurance, and to file evidence of compliance, it failed to do so in the recent past, violating AS 23.30.075 and AS 23.30.085. Nevertheless, the record reflects the employer came into compliance with the insurance requirements after realizing the lack of compliance, the employer has otherwise cooperated with the Investigator in this matter, and the Investigator does not request a stop order. Accordingly, we find a stop order is not necessary at present, and we decline to issue one at this time. 

IV.
ASSESSMENT OF Civil Penalties

When an employer subject to the requirement of AS 23.30.075 fails to comply, we may also assess a civil penalty. AS 23.30.080(f) provides:

If an employer fails to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075, the division may petition the board to assess a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each employee for each day an employee is employed while the employer failed to insure or provide the security required by AS 23.30.075. The failure of an employer to file evidence of compliance as required by AS 23.30.085 creates a rebuttable presumption that the employer failed to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075. 

This provision became effective November 7, 2005, and so we will assess a civil penalty under it only for days of lack of insurance on and after that date. We found above that the employer failed to insure or provide security for workers’ compensation coverage of its employees, as required by AS 23.30.075, from May 21, 2006 through February 14, 2007. We find that there were 186 employee work days that the employer was uninsured. The provisions of AS 23.30.080(f) give us discretion to consider assessing civil penalties requested by the Division. We find the employer is subject to those penalties, and the Division has filed a Petition for those penalties. 

Although the statute grants us extremely broad discretion in assessing penalties under AS 23.30.080(f), that section sets a relatively low evidentiary trigger (a presumption of failure to insure if proof of compliance is not provided), and sets a very high maximum penalty of $1,000.00 per employee per day). Accordingly, we have interpreted this section to reflect a legislative intent that we should normally assess a civil penalty for violations of the requirement to insure employees.
  Our decisions In re Paul Bermudez et al.
 and In re Alaska Native Brotherhood #2
 discussed a number of aggravating and mitigating factors we consider in determining appropriate civil penalties under AS 23.30.080(f). In those decisions, we found that a civil penalty of $15.00 per uninsured employee work day would be reasonable in those cases.
  

In the instant case, we find the employer’s failure to insure is similar to the failure in the case of  In re Mary Barragan dba Pizza Express,
 but we find this employer to have a first-time violation after the new civil penalty provision went into effect, and so we will assess a civil penalty of $30 per uninsured employee work day, with $10 suspended provided the employer remains insured, timely pays the civil penalty in installments of $500 per month, and otherwise cooperates with the Division. This calculates to total penalty of $5,580,
 with $1,860 suspended, for a total unsuspended civil penalty of $3,720.

V.
Monitoring the Employer

Pursuant to our general investigative authority at AS 23.30.135 and the Division’s request, we will direct the Investigator to monitor this employer’s compliance with our order to secure insurance, and we direct him to investigate this employer for a period of one year, for compliance with AS 23.30.075 and AS 23.30.085. We here give notice to the employer that if it fails to secure and maintain insurance for any employees following the date of this decision, it will be subject to a stop work order under AS 23.30.080(d) and additional civil penalties under AS 23.30.080(f). 

ORDER

1. The employer failed to insure his employees, in violation of AS 23.30.085, from May 21, 2006 through February 14, 2007. Under AS 23.30.075(b), the employer MARK HIXSON dba THE OUTBOARD SHOP is liable for any benefits that may be due under the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act, and is subject to the penalties provided in AS 23.30.070, for any claims arising during the period in which he was in violation of AS 23.30.085.

2. MARK HIXSON dba THE OUTBOARD SHOP is subject to the penalties provided in AS 23.30.080 for any claims arising during the period in which the employer was in violation of AS 23.30.075.

3. The employer shall maintain workers’ compensation insurance coverage for each employee, in compliance with AS 23.30.075 and continue to file evidence of compliance in accord with AS 23.30.085.

4. Under A.S. 23.30.080(f), the Board orders Mark Hixson dba THE OUTBOARD SHOP to pay a civil penalty of $5,580, as follows:
(a) $720 shall be paid on or before August 1, 2007, or within seven (7) days of the employer’s receipt of this order under AS 23.30.080(g), whichever shall occur later. Six (6) additional installments of $500 each shall be due commencing September 1, 2007, with each additional installment due on the 1st day of each succeeding month, for a total payment of $3,720. Payment shall be by check made payable to the “Alaska Workers’ Compensation Benefits Guaranty Fund,” delivered to the Alaska Department of Labor, Division of Workers’ Compensation, Juneau Office, P.O. Box 115512, Juneau, Alaska 99811-5512;
(b) $1,860 of the civil penalty is suspended on the condition that:
(1) the employer obtains and maintains workers compensation insurance as required by law for a period of two years, or until the business ceases, whichever may occur first, 
(2) timely pays the installment payments of the unsuspended penalty of Paragraph 4(a) of this order; and
(3) otherwise cooperates with the Division in its administration of the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act. 
Should the employer fail to maintain workers’ compensation coverage, fail to timely pay the installments under Paragraph 4(a) of this order, or fail to cooperate with the Division, then within seven (7) days of the failure the entire unpaid balance of the $5,580 civil penalty shall become immediately due and payable. Payment in such event shall be made by check to the address as in the preceding paragraph. 

5. Under AS 23.30.135, Investigator Paul Grossi shall provide a report to the Board within nine (9) months from the date of service of this order upon the employer, regarding the employer’s compliance with the Board’s order for the payment of the civil penalty assessed under AS 23.30.080(f).
6. Under AS 23.30.135, Investigator Paul Grossi shall monitor this employer for a period of not less than one year, for compliance with AS 23.30.075 and AS 23.30.085. The Investigator shall notify the Board of the results of its investigations.

7. Pending payment of civil penalties assessed under AS 23.30.080(f) in the sum of $5,580 with $1,860 suspended, for a total unsuspended civil penalty of $3,720, in accord with this Final Decision and Order, the Board shall maintain jurisdiction of this matter.
Dated at Juneau, Alaska on July 12, 2007.


ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD


/s/ Robert B. Briggs


Robert B. Briggs, Designated Chair


/s/ Richard Behrends


Richard Behrends, Member


/s/ Patricia A. Vollendorf


Patricia Vollendorf, Member

APPEAL PROCEDURES

This compensation order is a final decision. It becomes effective when filed in the office of the Board unless proceedings to appeal it are instituted. Effective November 7, 2005 proceedings to appeal must be instituted in the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Appeals Commission within 30 days of the filing of this decision and be brought by a party in interest against the Board and all other parties to the proceedings before the Board. If a request for reconsideration of this final decision is timely filed with the Board, any proceedings to appeal must be instituted within 30 days after the reconsideration decision is mailed to the parties or within 30 days after the date the reconsideration request is considered denied due to the absence of any action on the reconsideration request, whichever is earlier. AS 23.30.127

An appeal may be initiated by filing with the office of the Appeals Commission: (1) a signed notice of appeal specifying the board order appealed from and 2) a statement of the grounds upon which the appeal is taken. A cross-appeal may be initiated by filing with the office of the Appeals Commission a signed notice of cross-appeal within 30 days after the board decision is filed or within 15 days after service of a notice of appeal, whichever is later. The notice of cross-appeal shall specify the board order appealed from and the grounds upon which the cross-appeal is taken. AS 23.30.128

RECONSIDERATION

A party may ask the Board to reconsider this decision by filing a petition for reconsideration under AS 44.62.540 and in accordance with 8 AAC 45.050. The petition requesting reconsideration must be filed with the Board within 15 days after delivery or mailing of this decision.

MODIFICATION

Within one year after the rejection of a claim, or within one year after the last payment of benefits under AS 23.30.180, 23.30.185, 23.30.190, 23.30.200, or 23.30.215, a party may ask the Board to modify this decision under AS 23.30.130 by filing a petition in accordance with 8 AAC 45.150 and 8 AAC 45.050.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true and correct copy of the Final Decision and Order In the Matter of the Petition for a Finding of  Finding of the Failure to Insure Workers’ Compensation Liability and Assessment of Civil Penalty Against MARK HIXSON dba THE OUTBOARD SHOP, employer / respondents; Case No. 700002005; dated and filed in the office of the Alaska Workers' Compensation Board in Juneau, Alaska, on July ___, 2007.

________________________________________________


Susan N. Oldacres, Workers’ Comp. Technician
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� Testimony of Paul Grossi.


� NCCI, Proof of Coverage Search (printout dated 4/24/07)(Division Exhibit 4, pages 4 and 5).


� Division Exhibit 4, pages 2-3.


� Petition dated January 12, 2007.


� Discovery Demand dated January 12, 2007.


� Id.


� Exhibit 6 was mis-labeled as “Exhibit 7,” but described as Exhibit 6 on the exhibit list. There was no other document identified as Exhibit 6, and so at hearing the document, an Information Page from the current policy of insurance for the employer, was re-marked as Exhibit 6.


� Testimony of Mark Hixson.


� AWCB Dec. No. 07-0123 (May 11, 2007).


� AWCB Dec. No. 07-0114 (May 31, 2007).


� See, e.g., In re Akutan Traditional Council, AWCB Decision No. 06-0084 (April 18, 2006), p 8, fn 19.


� AWCB Dec. No. 07-0013 (Jan. 26, 2007).


� AWCB Dec. No. 06-0113 (May 8, 2006).


� But, see, In Re Wrangell Seafoods, Inc., AWCB Decision No. 06-0055 (March 6, 2006) )[$500.00 per employee per day], In Re Edwell John, Jr., d/b/a Admiralty Computers, AWCB Decision No. 06-0059 (March 8, 2006) [$25.00 per employee per day], In re Absolute Fresh Seafoods, Inc., AWCB Decision No. 07-0014 (January 30, 2007)[$20.00 per employee per day] ], and In re Dufour, AWCB Decision No. 06-0152 (June 9, 2006) [$250.00 per employee per day, $245.00 suspended, leaving a penalty of $5.00 per employee per day]. 


� AWCB Dec. No. 07-0114 (May 31, 2007).


� $30 x 186=$5,580.
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