In re: JACQUELINE HERTER d/b/a KODIAK REPORTING & TRANSCRIPTION
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ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD

P.O. Box 115512
  Juneau, Alaska 99811-5512

	IN RE THE MATTER OF THE PETITION 

FOR A FINDING OF THE FAILURE TO

INSURE WORKERS COMPENSATION 

LIABILITY AND ASSESSMENT OF CIVIL

PENALTY AGAINST:
JACQUELINE HERTER d/b/a

KODIAK REPORTING & TRANSCRIPTION,

                                     Uninsured Employer,

                                                  Respondent.
	)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)
	FINAL DECISION AND ORDER

AWCB Case No.  700002107
AWCB Decision No.  07-0224

Filed with AWCB Anchorage, Alaska

on August 1, 2007.


We heard the Petition for Finding of Failure to Insure and Assessment of Civil Penalties against the employer for failure to carry workers’ compensation insurance, on July 18, 2007, at Anchorage, Alaska.  The employer JACQUELINE HERTER d/b/a KODIAK REPORTING & TRANSCRIPTION appeared by telephone and represented herself.  Mark Lutz, investigator for the Fraud Investigation Section, of the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, represented the State of Alaska.  We heard the matter as a two-member panel under AS 23.30.005(f).  We closed the record at the conclusion on July 20, 2007. 


ISSUES
1.
Has the employer failed to provide workers' compensation liability insurance to cover her employees, pursuant to AS 23.30.075 and AS 23.30.085(a)?

2.
Shall we assess a civil penalty against the employer for failure to insure, under AS 23.30.080(f)? 

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE

Investigator for the Workers’ Compensation Division, Mark Lutz, testified that during a routine records check of the Division’s database in comparison with Department of Labor Employment Security Division (ESD) records, he discovered evidence that the employer did not have workers’ compensation insurance for a period of time, December 6, 2004 to May 16, 2006.  He testified that the employer had already obtained insurance before being contacted by the investigator. 

The investigator testified he obtained a National Council on Compensation Insurance, Inc. (“NCCI”) database report of Notice of Insurance for this employer, indicating that the employer had obtained workers’ compensation insurance in the past for the time period May 28, 1997 through December 6, 2004, and the employer’s insurance lapsed thereafter.
   NCCI records indicate that Jacqueline Herter was insured commencing May 17, 2006, under a different Federal Employer Identification Number.
  The investigator testified that he obtained Department of Labor, Employment Security Division (ESD) records indicating that the employer reported having employed one (1) employee in 2005, and one (1) employee in 2006, with payrolls of $5857 in 2005 and $4676 in 2006.
  This evidence suggests a gap in coverage from December 6, 2004 through May 16, 2006, a period of 527 calendar days. 

The investigator filed with the Board and served on the employer a Petition for Finding a Failure to Insure Under AS 23.30.075, issuance of a Stop Order under AS 23.30.080(d), and Assessment of a Civil Penalty under AS 23.30.080(f), and a Discovery Demand, by certified mail on March 1, 2007.  The Petition gave notice that the employer was potentially subject to civil penalties.  The Discovery Demand asked for evidence of employment of employees for the time period November 7, 2005 to May 16, 2007.  The petition and discovery demand were received by the employer on March 13, 2007.

The employer responded to the Discovery Demand on an unspecified date with copies of declarations page for Umialik Insurance Company policy no. AR200-0000628-2006A, showing insurance effective May 17, 2006, and with copies of paychecks and W-4 forms for 2005 and 2006.
  

On March 14, 2007, the employer submitted to the investigator a copy of a Renewal Notice from Alaska National Insurance Company, dated October 15, 2004, with interlineations and a telephone billing showing she attempted to renew the policy on December 5, 2004 (a Sunday) by electronic transaction, one day before the policy was set to expire.  The premium on the policy was $225 per year.
 The employer sent the insurance company a Final Audit Report on December 24, 2004.

Apparently the employer received no further communications from the insurance company, prompting the employer to write the insurance company in March 2005 inquiring, 

Could you please tell me whether I still have a policy with you[?]  I never received the Employers’ Notice of Insurance.  I sent in a credit card payment since I had not mailed a check in time for the 12/05/04 payment due of $225.  It does not appear to have been deducted from my account.  I had asked if you did not accept credit cards to let me know.

The employer’s written submittal indicates that she “started [a] new medical clinic contract” performing medical transcriptions, that “volume grew beyond expected and couldn’t keep up.  Let a lot of things slide during busy time.”
  During this period, according to the employer’s 
recap, she employed others for a total of approximately 29 work days.

The employer submitted a more formal response to the Discovery Demand on March 22, 2007.  This response identified two (2) employees who worked for the employer during the time period of November 7, 2005 to May 16, 2006 (with initials R.B. and T.H.).  The employer identified one other employee (with the initials AS) and represented that this employee did not work for her during the time period November 7, 2005 to May 16, 2006.
  The employer described her efforts to verify coverage in 2005 and 2006:

I first purchased Workers’ Comp. 05/28/1997.  I filled out audits whenever they asked.  From 2002 to present, Alaska National Insurance Company dropped the ball on me at least twice and was very difficult to follow.  I never knew if there were any problems unless I got a letter from Workers’ Comp when the information should have come from Allstate or Alaska National.  My agent was with Allstate in Anchorage and carried this policy as a favor to a long-time customer who had everything insured with him.  One time he helped ensure my coverage did not show as lapsed when no one notified me of renewal, but most recently I made a mistake and faxed over a payment with a debit card.  They never said a word, and 03/08/2005 I faxed a letter asking what my status was and whether I was covered because I never received the renewal in the mail.  I received a phone call some time after the fax stating I was not covered.  I never received notice of any lapse from Allstate, Alaska National or even Workers’ Comp.  I decided to find a new agent to work with me more closely and one call to State Farm went unreturned after the agent said she would get back to me.  My Notary was up for renewal 05/01/2006, so I finally went in and took care of the Notary renewal, the Notary bond, and the Workers’ Comp insurance in person with a State Farm agent I personally knew.

The attachments to this letter included copies of original timesheets showing employment of employee R.B. on a part-time basis, as well as another employee on a part-time basis, T.H.

On March 27, 2007, the investigator served on the employer an Affidavit of Readiness for Hearing together with a Notice of Evidence to be Introduced at Hearing    The ARH and Notice were received by the employer on March 31, 2007.
  The investigator’s Uninsured Employer Investigation Summary was also offered at the hearing.  The investigator also submitted the employer’s undated response to the investigator’s Discovery Demand.

Included in the attachment to the ARH is an affidavit of staff to the Fraud Investigations Section affying that, on examination of the employer’s timesheets, the employer had two (2) employees who worked a total of 67 work days during the period of lack of insurance from November 7, 2005 to May 17, 2006.
 

The file reflects that the employer was served on June 21, 2007, by certified mail, a Hearing Notice, stating that a hearing would be held concerning the Petition on July 18, 2007.  

At hearing, the employer identified the business as medical and legal transcription services, primarily as a sole proprietor with infrequent part-time help during busy periods.  The employer acknowledged the period of lack of insurance from December 6, 2004 to May 16, 2006, a period of 527 calendar days, and testified that two (2) employees worked part-time during the period of November 7, 2005 to May 16, 2007 for a total of 198.75 hours, or approximately 25 employee work days.  The employer testified that her current workers’ compensation policy is $262 per year.
  The parties agreed the employer had been cooperative in the investigation of this matter; that the employer had no reported injuries during the period of lack of insurance, or ever; that the employer in this matter is a small business employing only part-time employees on a limited basis with a relatively low payroll; that the employment involved is of moderately low risk; and that other than the lapse from December 6, 2004 to May 16, 2007, the employer has a good history of maintaining workers’ compensation insurance.

The investigator requested we find the employer had failed to insure her employees from December 6, 2004 to May 16, 2006, find that the employer had two (2) employees during the time period of November 7, 2005 and May 16, 2006, and that the employer had 67 uninsured employee work days.  The investigator had no recommended penalty in this matter, and the employer expressed the view that $5 per employee work day would not be inappropriate.  The investigator requested that we order monitoring of the employer for compliance with workers’ compensation requirements for a period of one year.


FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
I.
FAILURE TO FILE PROOF OF INSURANCE

The duty of an employer to file evidence of compliance with the workers’ compensation insurance requirement is set forth in AS 23.30.085:

(a)  An employer subject to this chapter, unless exempted, shall initially file evidence of his compliance with the insurance provisions of this chapter with the division, in the form prescribed by the director.  The employer shall also give evidence of compliance within 10 days after the termination of the employer’s insurance by expiration or cancellation.  These requirements do not apply to an employer who has certification from the board of the employer’s financial ability to pay compensation directly without insurance.

(b)  If an employer fails, refuses, or neglects to comply with the provision of this section, the employer shall be subject to the penalties provided in AS 23.30.070 . . . .

We find our administrative records and the hearing testimony show that the employer failed to show evidence of compliance with the workers' compensation insurance requirement from December 6, 2004 to May 16, 2006.    Although this employer clearly had opportunity to file evidence of compliance, we received no evidence of insurance for that period. 

Based on the consistent evidence of the hearing record, we find the employer failed to file evidence of compliance for the period from December 6, 2004 to May 16, 2006.  We conclude the employer was in violation of AS 23.30.085(a) for that period of time.  We also conclude the employer is subject to the penalties provided in AS 23.30.070 for any possible claims of injury arising during the period in which it is in violation of AS 23.30.085.

II.
FAILURE TO INSURE

AS 23.30.075 provides, in part:

(a)  An employer under this chapter, unless exempted, shall either insure and keep insured for the employer’s liability under this chapter in an insurance company or association . . . or shall furnish the division satisfactory proof of the employer’s financial ability to pay directly the compensation provided for . . . .

(b)  If an employer fails to insure and keep insured employees subject to this chapter or fails to obtain a certificate of self-insurance from the division, upon conviction, the court shall impose a fine of $10,000, and may impose a sentence of imprisonment for not more than one year.  If an employer is a corporation, all persons who, at the time of the injury or death, had authority to insure the corporation or apply for a certificate of self-insurance, and the person actively in charge of the business of the corporation shall be subject to the penalties prescribed in this subsection and shall be personally, jointly, and severally liable. . . .

 AS 23.30.080(d) provides, in part:

The failure of an employer to file evidence of compliance as required by AS 23.30.085 creates a rebuttable presumption that the employer has failed to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075. . . .

The employer has a general duty to provide workers' compensation insurance for her employees.  Based on our administrative records and the hearing testimony, we find the employer had employees and is subject to the Alaska Workers' Compensation Act.  We conclude the employer has an ongoing duty under AS 23.30.075 to insure any employees for workers’ compensation benefits. 

We find, based on the employer's failure to provide evidence of compliance that we must presume, as a matter of law that the employer has failed to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075.  The employer has provided no evidence to rebut that presumption.  Based on our administrative records and the testimony of the employer, we find this employer employed employees without workers’ compensation insurance for the time period of December 6, 2004 to May 16, 2006.

We conclude the employer failed to insure her employees, and was in violation of AS 23.30.075(a) from December 6, 2004 to May 16, 2006.  Under AS 23.30.075(b), we conclude the employer is directly liable for benefits under the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act for any possible claims arising during the period in which it was in violation of AS 23.30.075.

III.
STOP ORDER

When an employer subject to the requirement of AS 23.30.075 fails to comply, we may issue a stop order prohibiting the use of employee labor.  AS 23.30.080(d) provides:

If an employer fails to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075, the board may issue a stop order at the request of the division prohibiting the use of employee labor by the employer until the employer insures or provides security as required by AS 23.30.075. The failure of an employer to file evidence of compliance as required by AS 23.30.085 creates a rebuttable presumption that the employer has failed to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075. If an employer fails to comply with a stop order issued under this section, the board shall assess a civil penalty of $1,000 a day. The employer may not obtain a public contract with the state or a political subdivision of the state for three years following the violation of the stop order.

We found above that the employer has failed to insure or provide security for workers’ compensation coverage of her employees, as required by AS 23.30.075.  The provisions of AS 23.30.080(d) give us the discretion to consider issuing a stop work order, prohibiting the employer from using employee labor within the territorial jurisdiction of the State of Alaska.  Although this employer clearly had ample opportunity to secure insurance, and to file evidence of compliance, she failed to do so in the recent past, violating AS 23.30.075 and AS 23.30.085.  Nevertheless, the record reflects the employer came into compliance with the insurance requirements before being contacted by the Fraud Investigations Section, and the investigator does not request a stop order.  Accordingly, we find a stop order is not necessary at present, and we decline to issue one at this time.  

IV.
ASSESSMENT OF Civil Penalties

When an employer subject to the requirement of AS 23.30.075 fails to comply, we may also assess a civil penalty.  AS 23.30.080(f) provides:

If an employer fails to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075, the division may petition the board to assess a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each employee for each day an employee is employed while the employer failed to insure or provide the security required by AS 23.30.075.  The failure of an employer to file evidence of compliance as required by AS 23.30.085 creates a rebuttable presumption that the employer failed to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075. 

This provision became effective November 7, 2005, and so we will assess a civil penalty under it only for days of lack of insurance on and after that date.  We found above that the employer failed to insure or provide security for workers’ compensation coverage for her employees, as required by AS 23.30.075, from December 6, 2004 to May 16, 2006, a period of 527 calendar days.  However, the employer is liable for a civil penalty AS 23.30.080(f) only for the employee work days on and after November 7, 2005.  For the time period of November 7, 2005 to May 16, 2007, the employer was uninsured for a total of 191 calendar days. The provisions of AS 23.30.080(f) give us discretion to consider assessing civil penalties requested by the Division.  We find the employer is subject to those penalties, and the Division has filed a Petition for those penalties.  

Although the statute grants us extremely broad discretion in assessing penalties under AS 23.30.080(f), that section sets a relatively low evidentiary trigger (a presumption of failure to insure if proof of compliance is not provided), and sets a very high maximum penalty of $1,000.00 per employee per day.   Accordingly, we have interpreted this section to reflect a legislative intent that we should normally assess a civil penalty for violations of the requirement to insure employees.
  Our decisions In re Paul Bermudez et al.
 and In re Alaska Native Brotherhood #2
 discussed a number of aggravating and mitigating factors we consider in determining appropriate civil penalties under AS 23.30.080(f).  In those decisions, we found that a civil penalty of $15.00 per uninsured employee work day would be reasonable in those cases.
  

In some cases, the Board has found it appropriate to assess a per-employee work day penalty that is roughly equivalent to twice the daily premium the employer would have paid, in order to prevent the financial incentive of the employer going without insurance, and in recognition that a partial purpose of the civil penalty provision adopted in 2005 is to help allay the costs to the Workers’ Compensation Benefits Guaranty Fund to pay for benefits paid to uninsured injured workers.
  If we took that approach here, the employer currently pays approximately $.72 per day for workers’ compensation insurance.  Assessed at twice this rate for 191 calendar days of uninsurance, would result in a civil penalty of $275.
  

Although the duration of the lapse of insurance here is unusually long (527 days, with 191 of those days after November 7, 2005), the number of employees during that lapsed period is also unusually low, and the risk of injury is also very low given the sedentary nature of the work involved here (medical and legal transcription).  We find that a report of injury has never been filed by any employee of the employer.  We find that the risk to the Workers’ Compensation Benefits Guaranty Fund here is extremely low.   

As a mitigating factor, the employer also explained her attempts to verify her insured status with the insurance company, eventually having to obtain insurance from a different agent with a different insurance company.  The strongest mitigating factor in support of this employer is that she obtained insurance in May 2006, well before being contacted by the Fraud Investigation Section in March 2007.  Thus in this case, under its particular facts, we do not believe the approach taken in the Alexandra Mayberry/Cooker, Inc. case would be appropriate.

The Division asks us to find that the employer employed employees for 67 employee work days, calculating each part-time work day as a full work day.  We have found it appropriate in some cases to add up the total hours of uninsured labor and divide by eight, if the employer has engaged primarily part-time employees, and there are no other reasons for applying the strict language of the statute to assess a civil penalty for each uninsured employee that has worked any portion of a day.
  Here, we find the approach of the Julianna Patz case to be most appropriate, given the extremely low number of total employment hours and low total payroll involved in what is primarily a sole proprietorship business augmented with occasional workers to help during busy periods.  Accordingly, we find for purposes of civil penalty that the employer had twenty five (25) uninsured employee work days
 during the period of uninsurance after November 7, 2005.

We think the lapse in business practice that led to a period of lack of insurance coverage by a very small employer here is similar to that in the case of In re: Paul Bermudez, where the southern panel of the Board assessed a civil penalty of $15 per uninsured employee work day.  We are mindful of the importance of assessing a civil penalty that does not give an incentive to employers to go uninsured, by assessing less than what the employer actually would have paid under the foregone insurance policy.  However, we find the circumstances in this case are distinguishable from the Paul Bermudez case basd upon the following facts:

· the employer’s unrefuted difficulty in obtaining verification of insurance lapse from the insurance company;

· the employer, recognizing the obligation to obtain workers compensation insurance,  obtained coverage well before being contacted by the Fraud Investigation Section;

· this is the first period of uninsurance for an employer with an otherwise unblemished record of consistent insurance; 

· the employer has no reported injuries, ever;

· the employer is engaged in a business with low risk of injury;

· the employer is a sole proprietor with few, occasional part-time employee hours; and

· the likelihood of subsequent report of an injury, given the remoteness of time since the period of lapse in coverage, is very low.

Under these particular facts, we will shall assess a civil penalty of $15.00 per uninsured employee work day and suspend $11 per uninsured employee work day.  Thus for the employer’s 25 uninsured employee work days, we assess a civil penalty of $375.00, with $275.00 suspended on the conditions specified below in this order, for an effective unsuspended fine of $100.00.
V.
Monitoring the Employer

Under our general investigative authority at AS 23.30.135 and the Division’s request, we will direct the investigator to monitor this employer’s compliance with our order to secure insurance, and we direct him to investigate this employer for a period of one year, for compliance with AS 23.30.075 and AS 23.30.085.   We here give notice to the employer that if she fails to secure and maintain insurance for any employees following the date of this decision, she will be subject to a stop work order under AS 23.30.080(d) and additional civil penalties under AS 23.30.080(f).  

ORDER

1. The employer shall maintain workers’ compensation insurance coverage for each employee, in compliance with AS 23.30.075 and continue to file evidence of compliance in accord with AS 23.30.085.

2. The employer failed to insure her employees, in violation of AS 23.30.085, from December 6, 2004 to May 16, 2006.  Under AS 23.30.075(b), the employer JACQUELINE HERTER d/b/a KODIAK REPORTING & TRANSCRIPTION is liable for any benefits that may be due under the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act, and is subject to the penalties provided in AS 23.30.070, for any claims arising during the period in which she was in violation of AS 23.30.085.

3. Under AS 23.30.060, Jacqueline Herter is directly liable for any compensable claims arising during the period of violation of AS 23.30.075 from December 6, 2004 to May 16, 2006.

4. JACQUELINE HERTER d/b/a KODIAK REPORTING & TRANSCRIPTION is subject to the penalties provided in AS 23.30.080 for any claims arising during the period in which she was in violation of AS 23.30.075.

5. Under AS 23.30.080(f) and (g), the Board orders JACQUELINE HERTER d/b/a KODIAK REPORTING & TRANSCRIPTION, to pay $ 375.00 as follows:

(a) $100.00 shall be paid within seven (7) days of the employer’s receipt of this order.  Payment shall be by check made payable to the “Alaska Workers’ Compensation Benefits Guaranty Fund,” delivered to the Alaska Department of Labor & Workforce Development, Division of Workers’ Compensation, P.O. Box 115512, Juneau, AK 99811-5512;
(b) $275.00 of the civil penalty is suspended on the condition that the employer:
(1) obtains and maintains workers compensation insurance as required by law for a period of one year from the date of this order, until the employer ceases to have employees, or until the business ceases, whichever may occur first, 
(2) timely pays the unsuspended penalty of Paragraph 4(a) of this order; and
(3) otherwise cooperates with the Division in its administration of the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act. 
Should the employer fail to comply with the conditions of this paragraph, then within seven (7) days of the failure the entire unpaid balance of the $375.00 civil penalty shall become immediately due and payable.  Payment in such event shall be made by check to the address as in the preceding paragraph.    
6. If the employer fails to make payment within seven (7) days of receipt of this decision and order, under AS 23.30.080(g), the Director of the Division of Workers’ Compensation may declare Jacqueline Herter d/b/a Kodiak Reporting & Transcription in default.
7. Under AS 23.30.135, Investigator Mark Lutz shall monitor this employer for a period of not less than one year, for compliance with AS 23.30.075 and AS 23.30.085.  The Investigator shall notify the Board of the results of his investigations.

8. Pending the monitoring process ordered above under AS 23.30.135 and payment of civil penalties assessed under AS 23.30.080(f) in the sum of $100.00 the Board shall maintain jurisdiction of this matter. 
Dated at Anchorage, Alaska on August 1, 2007.






ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD
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Robert B. Briggs, Designated Chair
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Robert C. Weel, Member

APPEAL PROCEDURES

This compensation order is a final decision.  It becomes effective when filed in the office of the Board unless proceedings to appeal it are instituted.  Effective November 7, 2005 proceedings to appeal must be instituted in the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Appeals Commission within 30 days of the filing of this decision and be brought by a party in interest against the Board and all other parties to the proceedings before the Board. If a request for reconsideration of this final decision is timely filed with the Board, any proceedings to appeal must be instituted within 30 days after the reconsideration decision is mailed to the parties or within 30 days after the date the reconsideration request is considered denied due to the absence of any action on the reconsideration request, whichever is earlier. AS 23.30.127.

An appeal may be initiated by filing with the office of the Appeals Commission: (1) a signed notice of appeal specifying the board order appealed from and 2) a statement of the grounds upon which the appeal is taken.  A cross-appeal may be initiated by filing with the office of the Appeals Commission a signed notice of cross-appeal within 30 days after the board decision is filed or within 15 days after service of a notice of appeal, whichever is later.  The notice of cross-appeal shall specify the board order appealed from and the grounds upon which the cross-appeal is taken.  AS 23.30.128

RECONSIDERATION

A party may ask the Board to reconsider this decision by filing a petition for reconsideration under AS 44.62.540 and in accordance with 8 AAC 45.050.  The petition requesting reconsideration must be filed with the Board within 15 days after delivery or mailing of this decision.

MODIFICATION

Within one year after the rejection of a claim, or within one year after the last payment of benefits under AS 23.30.180, 23.30.185, 23.30.190, 23.30.200, or 23.30.215, a party may ask the Board to modify this decision under AS 23.30.130 by filing a petition in accordance with 8 AAC 45.150 and 8 AAC 45.050.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true and correct copy of the Final Decision and Order In the Matter of the Petition for a Finding of  Finding of the Failure to Insure Workers’ Compensation Liability and Assessment of Civil Penalty Against JACQUELINE HERTER d/b/a KODIAK REPORTING & TRANSCRIPTION, employer / respondents; Case No. 700002107; dated and filed in the office of the Alaska Workers' Compensation Board in Anchorage, Alaska, on August 1, 2007.






Jean Sullivan, Clerk
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� [Division’s] Affidavit of Readiness for Hearing [hereinafter, “Division ARH”], Attachment page 18 of 22, showing steady history of insurance in series of one-year policies in name of either Jacquie Herter, Deposition Services, or Kodiak Reporting & Transcriptions, each with Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) 920156380, beginning May 28, 1997.  The last policy shown for the FEIN of 920156380, was issued effective 12/6/2003, expired on December 6, 2004.  


� Ms. Herter is shown to have obtained a new workers’ compensation insurance policy, effective May 17, 2006, with Umialik Insurance Co., policy no. AR20000006282006A, under the FEIN that appears to be Ms. Herter’s Social Security Number.  This policy is shown in NCCI records to be active as of March 27, 2007.   Division ARH, Attachment at page 19 of 22.


� Division ARH, Attachment at page 19 of 22 (Alaska Department of Labor & Workforce Dev., Employment Security Division, ESD Tax Wage List for 2005 and 2006).


� U.S. Postal Service Track & Confirm Report for Item no. 7005-0390-0005-2725-2405 and U.S. Postal Service Form 3811 “green card.”


� Attachments to Discovery demand (undated, filing date unspecified).


� Facsimile Transmittal, J. Herter, to M. Lutz, Alaska Dept. of Labor & Workforce Dev., Div. of Workers’ Comp., Fraud Investigation Sec. (dated July 18, 2007), Attachment page 2 (copy of Renewal Notice dated Oct. 15, 2004 from Alaska Nat’l Ins. Co.) and page 3 (telephone billing statement showing call made on December 5, 2004 at 4:12 pm).


� Id., Attachment at page 4. 


� Id., Attachment at page 6, Letter, J. Herter d/b/a Kodiak Reporting & Transcription to Alaska Nat’l Ins. Co. (dated March 8, 2005).


� Id., Attachment at page 7 (hand-written notation).


� The employer provided a hand-written recapitulation of the minutes by employee by day, with a total of 13,939 minutes employed.  This calculates to approximately 29 employee work days: (13,939 min. ÷ 60 min.) ÷ (8 hrs/day) = 29.04 employee work days.


� Letter, J. K. Herter, Kodiak Reporting & Transcription, to Alaska Workers Comp. Board (dated Mar. 19, 2007).


� Id. at page 2. 


�Id., attachments at page 6-9  (timesheets for R.H.) and at pages 19-20.


� U.S. Postal Service Track & Confirm Report for Item no. 7001-0100-0000-2946-8074 and U.S. Postal Service Form 3811 “green card.”


� ARH, Attachment page 21 of 22, paras. 2-3.


� Testimony of Jacqueline Herter.  Ms. Herter confirmed that her time cards showed employees worked a total of 198.75 hours during the period of lack of insurance.  198.75 ÷ 8 hrs/workday = 24.84 employee work days.


� Testimony of Jacqueline Herter; Testimony of Mark Lutz.


� See, e.g., In re Akutan Traditional Council, AWCB Decision No. 06-0084 (April 18, 2006), p 8, fn 19.


� AWCB Dec. No. 07-0013 (Jan. 26, 2007).


� AWCB Dec. No. 06-0113 (May 8, 2006).


� But, see, In Re Wrangell Seafoods, Inc., AWCB Decision No. 06-0055 (March 6, 2006) )[$500.00 per employee per day], In Re Edwell John, Jr., d/b/a Admiralty Computers, AWCB Decision No. 06-0059 (March 8, 2006) [$25.00 per employee per day], In re Absolute Fresh Seafoods, Inc., AWCB Decision No. 07-0014 (January 30, 2007)[$20.00 per employee per day] ], and In re Dufour, AWCB Decision No. 06-0152 (June 9, 2006) [$250.00 per employee per day, $245.00 suspended, leaving a penalty of $5.00 per employee per day].  


� In re: Alexandra Mayberry / Cooker, Inc., AWCB Dec. No. 07-0032 (Feb. 23, 2007)(uninsured for 8 months, 10 employees, assessed civil penalty of $9,405).


� ($.72 x 2) x 191 = $275.04.


� E.g., In re: Julianna Patz d/b/a Southeast Waffle Co., AWCB Dec. No. 07-0115 (May 8, 2007)(1230 uninsured employee work days by actual count of employees who each worked an uninsured day, versus 812 uninsured employee work days when calculated, taking into consideration part-time status of most workers).


� There is a 4-day difference between the employer’s report (in minutes) of uninsured work, versus the employer’s original time cards, which yielded a calculation of 25 uninsured employee work days.  At hearing we inquired on this discrepancy, and find the employee’s testimony credible that the timecards accurately state the uninsured time worked.
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