«DocHeader»

[image: image1.png]


ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD

P.O. Box 115512
Juneau, Alaska 99811-5512

	IN THE MATTER OF THE

ACCUSATION OF THE FAILURE TO INSURE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

LIABILITY AND ASSESSMENT OF

A CIVIL PENALTY AGAINST 
VALLEY COMMUNITY FOR 

RECYCLING,
                           Employer,

                                 Respondent.  


	)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)
	FINAL DECISION AND ORDER

AWCB Case No.  700002079
AWCB Decision No.  08-0059
Filed with AWCB Anchorage, Alaska

on March 27, 2008


We heard this matter at Anchorage, Alaska on February 27, 2008.  Mollie Boyer, the employer’s executive director and registered agent, represented the employer.  Christine Christensen, Investigator for the State of Alaska, Workers’ Compensation Division (Division), represented the Division at the hearing.  The original two-member panel consisting of Chairman Darryl Jacquot and Industry Member David Kester, came to an impasse and we brought in Labor Member Patricia Vollendorf to break the tie.  We closed the record on March 19, when we next met after providing Mrs. Vollendorf with a copy of the hearing CD and access to the written file, and then deliberated.  


ISSUES
1. Has the employer failed to provide the workers’ compensation insurance coverage required by AS 23.30.075(a)?

2. Shall the Board order a civil penalty be paid under AS 23.30.080(e)?  


SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE
The employer is a non-profit recycling center in the Valley, operating in Alaska since February 9, 2001.  As mentioned above, Mollie Boyer is listed as the registered agent, and the following people are listed as corporate officers:  Steve Brown, Guy Barton, Doug Daniels, Dan Barton, Patricia Owens, Michael Janecek, and Charles Parker.  (See, Department of Commerce database).  At the February 27, 2008 hearing, Investigator Christensen testified that her colleague, Investigator Lutz, had determined, based on the Department of Labor Tax Wage List, and his investigations, that the employer had at least five or six employees between February 25, 2007 and June 6, 2007, which represented 196 intermittent employee workdays.  After consulting the National Council on Compensation Insurance (“NCCI”) records, Investigator Lutz determined that the employer was uninsured during this period.  He served a Petition for Finding of Failure to Insure on July 5, 2007.  

Investigator Christensen requested that the Board find the employer uninsured from February 25, 2007, through June 6, 2007, for a total period of 196 employee working days.
  She further requested that the Board order monitoring of the employer for one year, and that a civil penalty be assessed.  Investigator Christensen recommended a fine based on our discretion, but suggested a fine of between $5.00 and $10.00 per day.    

She noted the employer cooperated fully with the investigation and obtained a policy the day after her insurer notified the employer the coverage had lapsed.  Ms. Boyer testified at the February 27, 2008 hearing that the day she found out there was no coverage in place, she sent all employee’s home (with pay).  The employer had no prior history of reported work injuries.  The estimated annual premium for insurance was approximately $4,137.00, based on the fact that the type of employment was low to medium risk.  This would be approximately $11.34 per day.  

Ms. Boyer testified at the February 27, 2008 hearing.  She stated that the lapse in coverage was an oversight and bookkeeping error, and that safeguards have been put in place to ensure continued compliance.  As mentioned above, she testified that she tried to get coverage in place retroactive to the date she received notice of the lapse (June 5, 2007), and when she found out she couldn’t, she sent all employees home.  


FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
I.
Failure to Insure
AS 23.30.075 provides, in pertinent part, as follows: 

(a) An employer under this chapter, unless exempted, shall either insure and keep insured for the employer's liability under this chapter in an insurance company or association ... or shall furnish the board satisfactory proof of the employer's financial ability to pay directly the compensation provided for... 
(b) If an employer fails to insure and keep insured employees subject to this chapter or fails to obtain a certificate of self-insurance from the board, upon conviction the court shall impose a fine of $10,000 and may impose a sentence of imprisonment for not more than one year...
AS 23.30.080(d) provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

If an employer fails to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075, the board may issue a stop order prohibiting the use of employee labor by the employer until the employer insures or provides the security as required by AS 23.30.075. The failure of an employer to file evidence of compliance as required by AS 23.30.085 creates a rebuttable presumption that the employer has failed to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075 ...

We find, based on the testimony of Investigator Christensen, the documents in the record, and the admissions by Ms. Boyer, that Valley Community for Recycling, is an employer.  We find the employer has employed one or more individuals in the course of its business between February 25, 2007 and June 6, 2007.
  We conclude, therefore, that Valley Community for Recycling was an employer required by AS 23.30.075 to insure for liability under the workers' compensation act.  We also conclude that the employer failed to secure workers’ compensation insurance during this period, in violation of AS 23.30.075.  In addition, we find the employer and its corporate officers are jointly, severally and individually liable for any injuries that may have occurred during this period.  

II.
Assessment of Civil Penalty
Having found the employer failed to insure for workers’ compensation liability, and was in violation of AS 23.30.075 and AS 23.30.085 from February 25, 2007 until June 6, 2007, we shall consider the Division’s petition for assessment of a civil penalty under AS 23.30.080(f), which provides:

If an employer fails to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075, the division may petition the board to assess a civil penalty of up to $1,000.00 for each employee for each day an employee is employed while the employer failed to insure or provide the security required by AS 23.30.075.  The failure of an employer to file evidence of compliance as required by AS 23.30.085 creates a rebuttable presumption that the employer failed to insure or provide security as required by 
AS 23.30.075.

At the request of the then Governor’s legislative director, on July 19, 2005, the Alaska Attorney General’s office reviewed FCCS SB 130
 and explained the numerous changes in the Alaska Workers' Compensation Act, AS 23.30, and the changes in the process of adjudicating workers' compensation disputes to then Governor, Frank Murkowski.  The changes to AS 23.30.080(f) were explained as follows:

The second new subsection authorizes the division to petition the board for a civil penalty of up to $1,000 per day of employment per uninsured employee when an employer is uninsured.  This is a civil penalty for using employee labor while uninsured, not a penalty for violating a stop work order.  This civil penalty is in addition to a fine (up to $10,000) assessed by a court upon a criminal conviction under AS 23.30.075(b).  The penalty for using uninsured employee labor may be levied in addition to penalties for stop order violations.

AS 23.30.080(f) permits assessment of “a civil penalty of up to $1,000 per day of employment per uninsured employee when an employer is uninsured.”  Based upon the specific language of the statute and AS 23.30.135(a),
 the Board finds we are granted discretion to assess a civil penalty we find appropriate considering the specific facts of each case.  We find that, dependent upon the facts of the case, our assessment may be between zero and $1,000.00 per day per uninsured employee.  
The Board finds, based upon the testimony of Investigator Christensen, the testimony of Ms. Boyer and the administrative record, that the employer used employee labor to conduct the business of Valley Community for Recycling from February 25, 2007 until June 6, 2007.  Additionally, the Board finds the employer was uninsured for workers’ compensation liability during the entirety of this period.  Based upon the administrative record in the instant matter, the Board finds that between February 25, 2007 and June 6, 2007, the employer used 196 days of uninsured employee labor, during the 101 day calendar period.  

In assessing a civil penalty under AS 23.30.080(f), the Board finds that compensation acts frequently provide for penalties against employers that have failed to obtain workers’ compensation insurance.
  Ordinarily, provisions providing penalties against employers will be strictly construed.
  However, in exercising our discretion in determining the amount of the civil penalty to be assessed, we have considered mitigating and aggravating factors and given consideration to the appropriateness of the penalty in light of the life of the business of the employer charged, the gravity of the violation, any extent to which the employer charged has complied with the provisions requiring acquisition of worker's compensation insurance or has otherwise attempted to remedy the consequence of the uninsured employer's violation.

In the instant case, the Board finds the nature of the business of Valley Community for Recycling, a non-profit recycling center, is one of relatively low to moderate risk.  The Board finds no record of injuries having been reported against the employer during the relevant period of time the employer was uninsured for workers’ compensation liability and in violation of AS 23.30.075 and AS 23.30.085.  

For the period from February 25, 2007 through June 6, 2007, the Board finds the employer is subject to assessment of a civil penalty pursuant to AS 23.30.080(f).  The Board finds, based upon the administrative record in this matter, that the employer employed employees for a total of 196 employee work days, while the employer failed to insure or provide security required by 
AS 23.30.075.  The Board finds the maximum penalty it can assess under AS 23.30.080(f) is $196,000.00.  However, considering the unique circumstances of this case, the Board finds $196,000.00 is extremely excessive and shall exercise our discretion to determine the appropriate penalty assessment in the instant case. 

The Board finds the nature of the risk of the work performed by the uninsured employees was relatively low.  The Board finds the employer had secured a workers’ compensation policy immediately after it discovered the lapse;  in fact the employer sent its employees home, with pay, until coverage could be bound.  The employer did this without Division intervention.  The Board finds that the employer had only had a few employees with a small payroll.  

The Board finds that based upon the small size of the business, and the nature of the employer’s work place, the employees are placed at a relatively low risk of injury.  Further, we consider the severe financial hardship a small business such as Valley Community for Recycling will face if the maximum civil penalty is assessed as a mitigating factor in this case.   We also consider the employer’s actions after receiving notice of the lapse.  Considering all the circumstances unique to this matter, the Board finds assessment of the maximum penalty is not appropriate and that the mitigating factors operate to significantly reduce the statutory penalty rate of $1,000.00 per day per uninsured employee.

The Board shall base its assessment of the civil penalty upon 196 uninsured employee work days.  In consideration of the unique circumstances of this case, we shall reduce the daily penalty rate to a low rate of $4.00 per employee per day.
  Based on the factors above, the Board shall order the employer to pay $784.00 in civil penalties under AS 23.30.080(f) and in accord with AS 23.30.080(g).
   We reserve jurisdiction should the parties stipulate to a payment plan or the employer becomes uninsured while using employee labor within one year.    


ORDER
1. The employer shall maintain workers’ compensation insurance coverage of any employees, in compliance with AS 23.30.075 and continue to file evidence of compliance in accord with AS 23.30.085.
2. Pursuant to AS 23.30.060, the employer and its corporate officers are directly liable for any compensable claims arising during the period the employer was in violation of AS 23.30.075, from February 25, 2007 through June 6, 2007.

3. Pursuant to AS 23.30.075(b), the employer, its owner, and corporate officers are personally, jointly, and severally liable for any compensable claims arising during the period the employer was in violation of AS 23.30.075, from February 25, 2007 through June 6, 2007.

4. Pursuant to AS 23.30.135, the Board directs the Fraud Unit of the Workers’ Compensation Division to investigate this employer quarterly for a period of at least one year to ensure the employer’s continuing compliance with AS 23.30.075 and AS 23.30.085.  
5. Pursuant to AS 23.30.080(f), the Board assesses a civil penalty of $4.00 for each employee for the 196 days the employees were employed while the employer failed to insure or provide the security required by AS 23.30.075.  We order the employer to pay $784.00 in civil fines to the Alaska Department of Labor, Division of Workers’ Compensation, Juneau Office, P.O. Box 115512, Juneau, Alaska 99811-5512.  The Board orders the employer to make its check payable to the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Benefits Guaranty Fund established under AS 23.30.082.  
6. Pursuant to AS 23.30.080(g), payment of the unsuspended civil penalty of $784.00 is due within seven days after the date of service of this order upon the employer.  
7. Pending payment of civil penalties assessed under AS 23.30.080(f) in the sum of $784.00 in accord with this Decision and Order, the Board shall maintain jurisdiction of this matter, including whether to approve a stipulated payment plan, and order payment of suspended penalties, if necessary.  
Dated at Anchorage, Alaska on March 27, 2008.






ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD






Darryl Jacquot,






Designated Chairman






/s/ Patricia Vollendorf






Patricia Vollendorf, Member

DISSENT OF MEMBER KESTER

I respectfully dissent from the majority’s penalty assessment.  I feel it is the duty of the board to issue fines in a consistent and fair manner and that this was the intent of the legislature when enacting AS 23.30.080(e).  AS 23.30.080(e) allows for civil fines of up to $1,000 per day per employee.  The board has considered certain mitigating and aggravating factors to help assess penalties.  The board has consistently assessed civil penalties to be paid under AS 23.30.080(e) for employers that have similar mitigating factors involved in their case at around $15 dollars per day per employee.  Fines in this range seem to adequately take into account significantly mitigating factors and are a far cry from the maximum $1,000.  This employer was out of compliance for over 100 calendar days equating to nearly 200 employee work days where employees were at risk for injury.  The employer would have paid workers’ compensation premiums of over $1,100 during the time they were not in compliance.  While there are mitigating factors in this case, I feel there is no basis for assessing this low of a penalty and I would assess the penalty that is more consistent with similar cases.  






/s/ David Kester






David Kester, Member

APPEAL PROCEDURES
This compensation order is a final decision.  It becomes effective when filed in the office of the Board unless proceedings to appeal it are instituted.  Effective February 25, 2007 proceedings to appeal must be instituted in the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Appeals Commission within 30 days of the filing of this decision and be brought by a party in interest against the Board and all other parties to the proceedings before the Board. If a request for reconsideration of this final decision is timely filed with the Board, any proceedings to appeal must be instituted within 30 days after the reconsideration decision is mailed to the parties or within 30 days after the date the reconsideration request is considered denied due to the absence of any action on the reconsideration request, whichever is earlier. AS 23.30.127

An appeal may be initiated by filing with the office of the Appeals Commission: (1) a signed notice of appeal specifying the board order appealed from and 2) a statement of the grounds upon which the appeal is taken.  A cross-appeal may be initiated by filing with the office of the Appeals Commission a signed notice of cross-appeal within 30 days after the board decision is filed or within 15 days after service of a notice of appeal, whichever is later.  The notice of cross-appeal shall specify the board order appealed from and the grounds upon which the cross-appeal is taken.  AS 23.30.128

RECONSIDERATION
A party may ask the Board to reconsider this decision by filing a petition for reconsideration under AS 44.62.540 and in accordance with 8 AAC 45.050.  The petition requesting reconsideration must be filed with the Board within 15 days after delivery or mailing of this decision.

MODIFICATION
Within one year after the rejection of a claim, or within one year after the last payment of benefits under AS 23.30.180, 23.30.185, 23.30.190, 23.30.200, or 23.30.215, a party may ask the Board to modify this decision under AS 23.30.130 by filing a petition in accordance with 8 AAC 45.150 and 8 AAC 45.050.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true and correct copy of the Final Decision and Order in the matter of The Accusation of Employer’s Failure to Insure Workers’ Compensation Liability and Assessment of Civil Penalty against Valley Community for Recycling employer / respondant; Case No. 700002079; dated and filed in the office of the Alaska Workers' Compensation Board in Anchorage, Alaska, on March 28,2008





Carole Quam, Adm. Clerk 
�








� See, Timecards submitted by the employer.  


�See AS 23.30.265(13).  


� 10 FS SLA 05.


� 7/19/05 Letter to the Honorable Frank Murkowski, Governor, from David W. Márquez, Attorney General; �By: Scott J. Nordstrand, Deputy Attorney General, Civil Division, at 15.


� AS 23.30.135(a) provides in relevant part: “In making an investigation or inquiry or conducting a hearing the board is not bound by common law or statutory rules of evidence or by technical or formal rules of procedure, except as provided by this chapter.  The board may make its investigation or inquiry or conduct its hearing in the manner by which it may best ascertain the rights of the parties. . . .”


� See 101 C.J.S. Workers’ Compensation §1577.


� � HYPERLINK "http://www.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?rs=dfa1.0&vr=2.0&DB=0000711&FindType=Y&SerialNum=1940106035" �Petty v. Mayor, et al., of College Park, 63 Ga. App. 455, 11 S.E.2d 246 (1940)�.  


� In Re Edwell John, Jr., d/b/a Admiralty Computers, AWCB Decision No. 06-0059 (March 8, 2006); In Re Alaska Native Brotherhood #2, AWCB Decision No. 06-0113 (May 8, 2006); In Re Wrangell Seafoods, Inc., AWCB Decision No. 06-0055(March 6, 2006).


� In In Re:  Mecca Jewelry, AWCB Decision No. 07-0056 (March 15, 2007), we found that based on the low risk of the employment, and the employer’s prompt actions in complying with the insurance requirement, a civil fine of $3.00 per employee work day was warranted.  See, also, In Re Jolie Nail Spa, AWCB Decision No. 07-0137 (May 24, 2007;  and In Re Diamond Nails, AWCB Decision No. 07-0296 (September 27, 2007).  


� AS 23.30.080(g) requires an employer to pay a civil penalty order issued under AS 23.30.080(f) within seven days of the date the order is served upon the employer, failure to do so subjects the employer to a potential declaration of default and entry of a default judgment in the Alaska Superior Court, upon which collections may ensue.
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