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ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD

P.O. Box 115512
Juneau, Alaska 99811-5512

	PRISCILLA A. HURLEY, 

                                                  Employee, 

ANCHORAGE FRACTURE & 

ORTHOPEDIC CLINIC,

                                                  Claimant,

v. 

PROGRESSIVE PERSONAL CARE,

                                                  Employer,

                                                   and 

ARGONAUT INSURANCE CO.,

                                                  Insurer,

                                                  Defendants.
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	FINAL DECISION AND ORDER

AWCB Case No.  200903749
AWCB Decision No.  10-0142
Filed with AWCB Anchorage, Alaska

on August 20, 2010


Medical provider and claimant Anchorage Fracture & Orthopedic Clinic’s (AFOC) claim was heard on August 4, 2010, in Anchorage, Alaska.  Kari McKellar represented AFOC, and testified.  Priscilla Hurley (Employee) represented herself and testified.  Attorney Michael Budzinski represented Progressive Personal Care and its workers’ compensation insurer (Employer).  The record closed at the hearing’s conclusion on August 4, 2010.

ISSUES

AFOC contends it incurred medical expenses related to Employee’s May 18, 2009 fall down the stairs while she was at work at a consumer’s home.  Specifically, it claims it evaluated Employee’s left knee symptoms, and incurred $1,800.00 in medical expenses, for which it seeks payment from Employer.

Employer does not dispute AFOC’s bill, but contends it had 100% turnover in employees at its adjusting company over the last year and this led to some lapses in which some bills from providers “fell through the cracks.”  Employer contends it directed its new adjuster to process the subject bills for payment, and payment is pending.

1) Is AFOC entitled to payment of $1,800.00 in medical expenses from Employer for Employee’s left knee?

AFOC next contends it is entitled to a penalty from Employer for Employer’s failure to pay AFOC’s bill related to Employee’s left knee symptoms.  Employer admits it owes a penalty but contends by law the penalty goes to Employee, not to AFOC.

2) Is AFOC or Employee entitled to a penalty from Employer for Employer’s failure to pay AFOC’s bill related to Employee’s left knee symptoms?

Lastly, AFOC contends it is entitled to interest from Employer on the value of AFOC’s medical bills incurred in respect to Employee’s left knee symptoms.  Employer admits AFOC is entitled to interest.

3) Is AFOC entitled to interest from Employer on the value of AFOC’s medical bills incurred in respect to Employee’s left knee symptoms?

FINDINGS OF FACT

A review of the entire record establishes the following facts by a preponderance of the evidence:

1) On March 18, 2009, Employee, while working for Employer as Program Support Coordinator fell down several stairs in a consumer’s home (Report of Occupational Injury or Illness, (ROI) March 24, 2009; Employee’s statement, June 10, 2009).

2) On March 18, 2009, Employee felt excruciating pain in her right ankle when she fell; her left knee was forced inward, made a “distinct snapping noise” and she worried it too was injured; as she lay on the floor, Employee’s focus was on her right ankle, which caused her “extreme” pain; after gaining her composure for about ten minutes, Employee could not weight bear on her right leg, could stand on her left leg, but needed weight bearing assistance to get to the couch (Employee’s statement, June 10, 2009).

3) On March 18, 2009, Employee’s daughter took her to Providence Hospital emergency room; Employee does not recall if she reported the left knee portion of her experience to the hospital staff, but Employee’s daughter, who was with her informed Employee she had reported knee popping as a “distinct part of the description of what happened”; there were no “apparent symptoms” to the left knee while Employee was in the emergency room, but her right ankle was “obviously injured,” required treatment and was diagnosed as a “severe sprain” (id.).

4) On March 20, 2009, Employee received a call from the emergency room staff advising her right ankle was fractured.  The emergency room referred Employee to Davis Peterson, M.D., at AFOC for evaluation (id.).

5) On March 23, 2009, Employee saw Dr. Peterson and complained of right ankle “sprained/fracture” after she missed a step and fell down three stairs.  Dr. Peterson diagnosed a possible calcaneal fibular ligament avulsion with a grade II anterior talofibular ligament strain with no major intra-articular fracture identified (Dr. Peterson’s Physician’s Report, March 23, 2009).

6) On March 24, 2009, Employer completed a ROI noting an injury to Employee’s right ankle and not doubting the injury’s validity (ROI, March 24, 2009).

7) On April 16, 2009, Employee saw Dr. Peterson and gave an interval history, which did not reference left knee symptoms.  Her ankle was still swollen, and Dr. Peterson prescribed an “ankle rehab program” (Dr. Peterson’s Physician’s Report, April 16, 2009).

8) Employee attended approximately four physical therapy sessions with United Physical Therapy and while doing so noticed her left knee was feeling increasingly weak, with periodic pain affecting her gait and mobility (Employee’s statement, June 10, 2009).

9) On May 26, 2009, Employee saw Dr. Peterson and decided to tell him about the left knee snapping when she fell, her growing weakness and pain, and to ask him for an evaluation and treatment (Employee’s statement, June 10, 2009).

10) On May 26, 2009, Dr. Peterson evaluated Employee’s left knee and noted her history of a prior arthroscopy in the early 1970s, otherwise doing well since then, and having “popping and pain” in the lateral joint line of the left knee as well as consistent “popping, crepitus and an unstable feeling” in the knee since the fall.  He diagnosed, in respect to the knee, probable “incomplete anterior cruciate ligament injury on the left knee, with posterior horn meniscal tear; prior debridement, apparently of the medial meniscus” (Dr. Peterson’s Physician’s Report, May 26, 2009).

11) On June 10, 2009, Employee provided a written statement for the first time since the injury, stating the above-referenced, undisputed facts (Employee’s statement, June 10, 2009).

12) On July 8, 2009, Employee saw Douglas Prevost, M.D., on referral from Dr. Peterson.   The reported history does not contain any reference to the March 18, 2009, work-related injury, but the report is attached to a workers’ compensation Physician’s Report.  X-rays taken showed “bone-on-bone” articulation of the posterior aspect of the knee’s lateral compartment.  Dr. Prevost assessed “[d]egenerative joint disease, left knee, largely involving the lateral compartment and to a lesser extent the patellofemoral compartment and medial compartment associated with mild valgus deformity” (Dr. Prevost’s Physician’s Report, July 8, 2009).

13) On June 18, 2009, and July 10, 2009, respectively, AFOC sent the bills and records for the June 15, 2009 MRI and the July 8, 2009 x-rays and office visit to Employer (McKellar). 

14) Employee believes her left knee problem “developed as a result of the March 18th fall” (Employee’s statement, June 10, 2009).

15) On March 3, 2010, AFOC filed a Workers’ Compensation Claim (claim) requesting medical costs “$1,800.00,” penalty, and interest.  AFOC’s claim described the injury as occurring when Employee was walking down stairs and tripped, then slipped.  It described the parts of the body injured as the right ankle and the left knee.  As to the left knee, the claim said Employee suffered medial and anterior lateral, probable incomplete anterior cruciate ligament injury with a posterior horn meniscal tear.  AFOC’s claim also stated it had filed “claims” three times and made numerous phone calls to the adjuster “with no success” (claim, February 23, 2010).

16) On March 3, 2010, AFOC attached to the claim a medical summary to which was attached copies of the medical records and associated bills, subject of AFOC’s claim.  These service dates included June 15, 2009 and July 8, 2009, and included records of a magnetic resonance imaging scan (MRI) of Employee’s left knee, costing $1,500.00, Dr. Prevost’s July 8, 2009 office visit, costing $155.00, and a July 8, 2009 x-ray report, reflecting x-rays and Dr. Prevost’s interpretation, costing $145.00 (id.; Medical Summary, February 12, 2010).

17) On March 3, 2010, AFOC also attached to its claim itemized billing forms for each service date.  Included was a health insurance claim form for the June 15, 2009 MRI, stating the “patient’s condition” was related to employment, Dr. Peterson was her physician, and the bill was $1,500.00.  Also included was a separate health insurance claim form for the July 8, 2009 x-rays and interpretation stating the “patient’s condition” was related to employment, Dr. Prevost was her physician, and the bill was $300.00 (id.).

18) There is no answer in the file to AFOC’s February 23, 2010 claim; no answer was filed (record).

19) There is no controversion in the file to AFOC’s February 23, 2010 claim; no controversion was filed (record).

20) On March 16, 2010, Employee, AFOC, and Employer’s insurer’s adjuster Broadspire Services, Inc., were served with a prehearing notice, setting a prehearing conference for May 20, 2010 (Prehearing Notice, March 16, 2010).

21) On May 20, 2010, Kari McKellar appeared telephonically for AFOC; no one appeared for Employee or Employer (Prehearing Conference Summary, May 20, 2010).

22) On May 20, 2010, the prehearing chair issued a prehearing conference summary noting his unsuccessful attempt to contact Employer’s adjuster Broadspire by phone at the prehearing conference and directing Broadspire to provide a written explanation for its failure to attend, advising he would report the failure to appear to the Division of Insurance if no explanation was provided within ten days.  This summary was served on Employer, Broadspire, Employee, Argonaut Insurance and AFOC on May 20, 2010 (id.).

23) On June 3, 2010, when no explanation was forthcoming, the chair reissued the prehearing summary and highlighted its order stating Broadspire “was ordered to provide a written response to the prehearing summary of 05/20/10 within 10 days” (Prehearing Conference Summary, June 3, 2010).

24) On June 21, 2010, AFOC filed an Affidavit of Readiness for Hearing (ARH) on its February 23, 2010 claim (ARH, June 15, 2010).

25) There is no opposition in the file to AFOC’s June 15, 2010 ARH (record).

26) On June 23, 2010, Susan Hildreth, Senior Adjuster at Broadspire wrote the chair explaining her absence at the May 20, 2010 prehearing was an “oversight” and steps were taken to insure it would not happen again (letter, June 23, 2010).

27) On July 13, 2010, Godfrey Lecointe, Service Center Manager for Broadspire wrote the insurance division explaining the adjuster’s failure to appear at the May 20, 2010 prehearing was an “inexcusable oversight” and steps were taken to insure it would not happen again (letter, July 13, 2010).

28) On August 4, 2010, at hearing Employee testified her June 10, 2009 written statement was true and correct (Hurley).

29) On August 4, 2010, at hearing AFOC’s representative testified and reiterated statements made in AFOC’s February 23, 2010 claim (McKellar).

30) This claim does not involve highly complex medical issues (record).

31) As of the hearing date, Employer had not paid AFOC’s bills or any related penalty or interest (record).

32) The interest rate in effect for 2009 injuries is 3.5% per annum (official notice).  
33) All parties agreed at hearing AFOC’s bills may be subject to adjustment under the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule, pursuant to AS 23.30.097 (record).

34) As of the hearing date, AFOC’s bills had not been processed through the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule, and consequently, it was unknown if there would be a fee reduction to any charges, pursuant to AS 23.30.097 (record).

PRINCIPLES OF LAW

Sec. 23.30.010.  Coverage.  Except as provided in (b) of this section, compensation or benefits are payable under this chapter for disability or death or the need for medical treatment of an employee if the disability or death of the employee or the employee’s need for medical treatment arose out of and in the course of the employment.  To establish a presumption under AS 23.30.120(a)(1) that the disability or death or the need for medical treatment arose out of and in the course of the employment, the employee must establish a causal link between the employment and the disability or death or the need for medical treatment.  A presumption may be rebutted by a demonstration of substantial evidence that the death or disability or the need for medical treatment did not arise out of and in the course of the employment.  When determining whether or not the death or disability or need for medical treatment arose out of and in the course of the employment, the board must evaluate the relative contribution of different causes of the disability or death or the need for medical treatment.  Compensation or benefits under this chapter are payable for the disability or death or the need for medical treatment if, in relation to other causes, the employment is the substantial cause of the disability or death or need for medical treatment. . . . 

The board may base its decision not only on direct testimony, medical findings, and other tangible evidence, but also on the board’s “experience, judgment, observations, unique or peculiar facts of the case, and inferences drawn from all of the above.”  Fairbanks North Star Borough v. Rogers & Babler, 747 P.2d 528, 533-534 (Alaska 1987).  “An employee’s preexisting condition will not” relieve an employer from liability in a proper case (id. at 534).  A finding disability would not have occurred “but for” employment may be supported not only by a doctor’s testimony, but inferentially from the fact that an injured worker had been able to continue working despite pain prior to the subject employment but required surgery after that employment. A finding reasonable persons would find employment was a cause of the employee’s disability and impose liability is, “as are all subjective determinations, the most difficult to support.”  However, there is also no reason to suppose panel members who so find are either irrational or arbitrary. That “some reasonable persons may disagree with a subjective conclusion does not necessarily make that conclusion unreasonable” (id.).

Sec. 23.30.095.  Medical treatments, services, and examinations.  (a) The employer shall furnish medical, surgical, and other attendance or treatment, nurse and hospital service, medicine, crutches, and apparatus for the period which the nature of the injury or the process of recovery requires, not exceeding two years from and after the date of injury to the employee. . . .  It shall be additionally provided that, if continued treatment or care or both beyond the two-year period is indicated, the injured employee has the right of review by the board.  The board may authorize continued treatment or care or both as the process of recovery may require. . . . 

Medical benefits including continuing care are covered by the AS 23.30.120(a) presumption of compensability.  Municipality of Anchorage v. Carter, 818 P.2d 661, 664-665 (Alaska 1991).  In complex medical cases, medical evidence is necessary to establish the preliminary link between the work injury and the ongoing disabilities.  Delaney v. Alaska Airlines, 693 P. 2d 859, 862 (Alaska 1985).  
Under the Act, an employer “shall” furnish an employee injured at work any medical treatment “which the nature of the injury or process of recovery requires” within the first two years of the injury.  The medical treatment must be “reasonable and necessitated” by the work-related injury.  Thus, when the board reviews an injured employee’s claim for medical treatment made within two years of an injury that is indisputably work-related, “its review is limited to whether the treatment sought is reasonable and necessary.”  Philip Weidner & Associates v. Hibdon, 989 P.2d 727, 730 (Alaska 1999).  Injured workers are also entitled to medical care after two years following their date of injury, but the board has greater discretion following the injury’s two-year anniversary, and may rely upon contrary opinions in that instance.

Sec. 23.30.097.  Fees for medical treatment and services.  (a) All fees and other charges for medical treatment or service are subject to regulation by the board consistent with this section.  A fee or other charge for medical treatment or service may not exceed the lowest of

(1) the usual, customary, and reasonable fees for the treatment or service in the community in which it is rendered, for treatment or service 

(A) provided before August 1, 2007, not to exceed the fees in the board’s fee schedule dated December 1, 2004; 

(B) provided on or after August 1, 2007, but before March 31, 2009, not to exceed the fees otherwise applicable in (A) of this paragraph adjusted by the percentage change from 2004 to 2006 in the medical care component of the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers compiled by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics; 

(C) provided on or after March 31, 2009, but before December 31, 2010, not to exceed the fees otherwise applicable in (A) of this paragraph adjusted by the percentage change from 2004 to 2008 in the medical care component of the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers compiled by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics; 

(2) the fee or charge for the treatment or service when provided to the general public; or 

(3) the fee or charge for the treatment or service negotiated by the provider and the employer under (c) of this section. 

. . .

(d) An employer shall pay an employee’s bills for medical treatment under this chapter, excluding prescription charges or transportation for medical treatment, within 30 days after the date that the employer receives the provider’s bill or a completed report as required by AS 23.30.095(c), whichever is later. . . .

. . .

(f) An employee may not be required to pay a fee or charge for medical treatment or service provided under this chapter. . . . 

Sec. 23.30.120.  Presumptions.  (a) In a proceeding for the enforcement of a claim for compensation under this chapter it is presumed, in the absence of substantial evidence to the contrary, that

(1) the claim comes within the provisions of this chapter; . . . .

“The text of AS 23.30.120(a) (1) indicates that the presumption of compensability is applicable to any claim for compensation under the workers’ compensation statute.”  Meek v. Unocal Corp., 914 P.2d 1276, 1279 (Alaska 1996) (emphasis in original).  Therefore, an injured worker is afforded a presumption all the benefits he seeks are compensable (id.).  “AS 23.30.120 establishes a presumption of compensability, which places the burden of producing evidence on the employer.”  An employee is entitled to the presumption of compensability as to each evidentiary issue.   Sokolowski v. Best Western Golden Lion, 813 P.2d 286, 292 (Alaska 1991).  But while it does apply to “every element of a factual determination,” the “presumption analysis does not apply to every possible issue in a workers’ compensation case.”  Burke v. Houston NANA, 222 P.3d 851, 861 (Alaska 2010).  In cases where there is a specific, statutory provision governing an issue, like frequency of treatment limits, “we cannot see how the presumption analysis can be used to defeat the explicit statutory provision. . . .”  (id.).   It could apply to questions which raise the issue if “part of the claim was covered at all” (id.).  Alternately, the presumption analysis is not applied in cases where the parties agree the Act covered the employee’s claim and “applying the presumption did not ‘promote the goals of encouraging coverage and prompt benefit payment’” (id.; quoting Rockney v. Boslough Construction Co., 115 P.3d 1240, 1244 (Alaska 2005)).  
Sec. 23.30.122.  Credibility of witnesses.  The board has the sole power to determine the credibility of a witness.  A finding by the board concerning the weight to be accorded a witness’s testimony, including medical testimony and reports, is conclusive even if the evidence is conflicting or susceptible to contrary conclusions.  The findings of the board are subject to the same standard of review as a jury’s finding in a civil action.

Sec. 23.30.155.  Payment of compensation. (a) Compensation under this chapter shall be paid periodically, promptly, and directly to the person entitled to it, without an award, except where liability to pay compensation is controverted by the employer. . . .

(b) The first installment of compensation becomes due on the 14th day after the employer has knowledge of the injury or death.  On this date all compensation then due shall be paid. . . .   

. . .

(d) If the employer controverts the right to compensation, the employer shall file with the division and send to the employee a notice of controversion on or before the 21st day after the employer has knowledge of the alleged injury or death. . . . 

(e)  If any installment of compensation payable without an award is not paid within seven days after becomes due, as provided in (b) of this section, there shall be added to the unpaid installment an amount equal to 25 percent of the installment.  This additional amount shall be paid at the same time as, and in addition to, the installment, unless notice is filed under (d) of this section or unless the nonpayment is excused by the board after a showing by the employer that owing to conditions over which the employer had no control the installment could not be paid within the time period prescribed for the payment.  The additional amount shall be paid directly to the recipient to whom the unpaid installment was to be paid.

. . .

(p) An employer shall pay interest on compensation that is not paid when due. . . .

Workers’ compensation benefits are considered “paid” when the negotiable check is properly addressed to the correct party and post-marked in the United States Mail.  This is commonly referred to as the “mailbox rule.”  Aleck v. Kiewit Centennial, AWCB Decision No. 00-0054 (March 23, 2000).  Accordingly, the date the check is postmarked, and not the date it is received, is the date determinative of whether a check is considered “late” for interest and penalty purposes. Williams v. Safeway Stores, 525 P.2d 1087 (Alaska 1974), discussed the difficulty of defining “compensation” under the Workers’ Compensation Act:

Initially, [former] AS 23.30.265(8) defines ‘compensation’ for the purposes of the Act without mention of medical benefits, and [former AS 23.30.265(20)] defines ‘medical and related benefits’ in mutually exclusive language. . . .  However, other sections of the Act . . . use the word ‘compensation’ so that the only reasonable reading of the word would include medical benefits.

Id. at 1089, n. 6.  The Alaska Supreme Court generally construes “compensation” to include medical benefits, (see Moretz, 783 P.2d at 766, n. 2), but occasionally reaches the opposite result if statutory language strongly suggests a narrower reading (see Providence Washington Ins. Co. v. Busby, 721 P.2d 1151 (Alaska 1986) (per curiam)).  In Childs v. Copper Valley Electric, Inc., 860 P.2d 1184, 1192 (Alaska 1993), the court held:

Furthermore, interpreting ‘compensation’ in paragraph [155](e) to include medical benefits serves important public policy goals.  The penalty provision creates an incentive for the insurance carrier to timely pay an employee the compensation due.  Otherwise, a carrier could make promises to pay medical benefits and then breach them at will, as apparently occurred here.  Therefore, we hold that ‘compensation’ under AS 23.30.155(e) includes medical benefits, and we reverse the findings of the Board and the superior court on this matter.

8 AAC 45.050.  Pleadings.  (a) A person may start a proceeding before the board by filing a written claim or petition. . . . 

. . .

(c) Answers.

(1) An answer to a claim for benefits must be filed within 20 days after the date of service of the claim and must be served upon all parties.  A default will not be entered for failure to answer, but, unless an answer is timely filed, statements made in the claim will be deemed admitted.  

8 AAC 45.082.  Medical treatment. (a) The employer’s obligation to furnish medical treatment under AS 23.30.095 extends only to medical and dental services furnished by providers, unless otherwise ordered by the board after a hearing or consented to by the employer. . . . 


(b) In this section ‘provider’ means any person or facility as defined in AS 47.08.140 and licensed under AS 08 to furnish medical . . . services. . . .

. . .

(d) Medical bills for an employee’s treatment are due and payable within 30 days after the date the employer received the medical provider’s bill and a completed report on form 07-6102.  Unless the employer controverts the prescription charges or transportation expenses, an employer shall reimburse an employee’s prescription charges or transportation expenses for medical treatment within 30 days after the employer received the medical provider’s completed report on form 07-6102 and an itemization of the prescription numbers or an itemization of the dates of travel, destination, and transportation expenses for each date of travel. . . .  

. . .

(i) Fees for medical treatment are determined as follows:

(1) The fee may not exceed the physician’s actual fee or the usual, customary, and reasonable fee as determined under this subsection, whichever is lower.

(2) The board will publish annually a bulletin for the ‘Workers’ Compensation Manual,’ published by the department which gives the name and address of the organization whose schedule of providers’ charge data must be used in determining the usual, customary, and reasonable fee for medical treatment or services for injuries that occur on or after July 1, 1988. The manual, and the organization’s name and address are available upon request from the division.

(3) The usual, customary, and reasonable fee must be determined based on the 90th percentile of the range of charges for similar services reported to the organization described in (2) of this subsection. The organization charge data must be used as follows:

(A) The organization’s annual publication of the schedule of usual, customary, and reasonable fees in effect at the time the employee received the treatment must be used. However, if the organization publishes the schedule semi-annually, then the semi-annual publication for the period in which the employee received treatment must be used.

(B) If the community in which services were rendered is not included in the organization’s data, or if the type of treatment the employee received is not included in the organization’s data for the community in which services were rendered, the usual and customary fee must be based on the data reported for the community nearest to the community in which the services were rendered to the employee.

(C) If the type of treatment or service the employee received is not included in the organization’s data and the employer has evidence that the fee exceeds the usual, customary, and reasonable fee charged in the community for the treatment or services rendered, the employer shall pay the physician based on the employer’s evidence. In accordance with AS 23.30.110 and 8 AAC 45.070, the physician may request a hearing for a board determination of the usual, customary, and reasonable fee in the community for the treatment or service, and the board will determine and award the usual, customary, and reasonable fee.

. . .

8 AAC 45.142.  Interest.  (a) If compensation is not paid when due, interest must be paid at the rate established in . . . AS 09.30.070(a) for an injury that occurred on or after July 1, 2000.  If more than one installment of compensation is past due, interest must be paid from the date each installment of compensation was due, until paid.  If compensation for a past period is paid under an order issued by the board, interest on the compensation awarded must be paid from the due date of each unpaid installment of compensation.

(b) The employer shall pay the interest


(1) on late-paid time-loss compensation to the employee. . . ;

. . . 


(3) on late-paid medical benefits to


(A) the employee or, if deceased, to the employee’s beneficiary or estate, if the employee has paid the provider or the medical benefits;

. . .

(C) to the provider if the medical benefits have not been paid.

Interest awards recognize the time value of money, and they give “a necessary incentive to employers to release . . . money due.”  Moretz v. O’Neill Investigations, 783 P.2d 764, 765-66 (Alaska 1989).  The court consistently directs interest awards to injured workers for the time value of money.  Childs v. Copper Valley Electric Assn., 860 P.2d 1184 at 1191 (Alaska 1993) (quoting Moretz 783 P.2d 764, 765-766 (Alaska 1989)); Land & Marine Rental Co. v. Rawls, 686 P.2d 1187 at 1192 (Alaska 1987).  Benefits are payable when due, and an injured worker is entitled to interest on compensation not paid when due. Interest is mandatory. Circle De Lumber v. Humphrey 130 P.3d 941, 951, citing Dougan v. Aurora Elec., Inc., 50 P.3d 789, 794 (Alaska 2002); AS 23.30.155(p).  The interest rate in effect for 2009 injuries is 3.5% per annum.  
ANALYSIS

1) Is AFOC entitled to payment of $1,800.00 in medical expenses from Employer for Employee’s left knee?

Because Employer failed to answer AFOC’s claim, by law the facts in AFOC’s claim are deemed admitted.  Furthermore, Employer offered no contrary evidence before or at hearing.  Facts pertinent to this issue included in AFOC’s claim include the description of how the injury happened (a trip or slip on steps), the parts of the body injured (including left knee), the nature of the injury (medial and anterior lateral, probable incomplete anterior cruciate ligament injury on the left knee with posterior horn meniscal tear), the provider’s name (AFOC), and the total medical expenses incurred ($1,800.00).  Therefore, because these facts are admitted and undisputed, AFOC’s entitlement to payment for its bill from Employer is a legal issue and the presumption of compensability analysis need not be applied.  Burke; Rockney.  In this case, under these facts, applying the presumption would not promote the goals of encouraging coverage and prompt benefit payment, since Employer concedes it owes the claimed compensation.  

It is undisputed Employee slipped and fell while on the job working for Employer as she stated.  It is undisputed Employee injured, for this claim’s purposes, her left knee when she fell.  AFOC’s claim and attached medical records stated sufficient, admitted facts to prove her left knee injury arose out of and in the course of her employment with Employer, and her March 18, 2009, work-related injury was the substantial cause of the need for medical treatment she obtained from AFOC on June 5, 2009, and July 8, 2009.  Her written statement and testimony are credible and uncontradicted, and are consistent with reports in her medical records.    

Accordingly, as a matter of law Employee may be entitled to any and all benefits under the Act for which she may qualify, and Employer may be liable for additional medical care or other benefits in accordance with the Act.  Absent a valid legal or factual reason to controvert Employee’s rights to benefits, Employer is required by law to pay benefits to which Employee is or may become entitled, promptly and directly without an order.  However, Employer retains its right to controvert Employee’s rights to benefits in the future, and any claims for those benefits she may make, in accordance with the Act.

As for the benefits subject of AFOC’s instant claim, it is undisputed Employee and AFOC incurred medical bills in respect to Employee’s left knee, treatment for which arose out of and in the course of Employee’s employment; specifically the fall on March 18, 2009.  Accordingly, AFOC is entitled to direct payment from Employer for the medical charges subject of its February 23, 2010 claim.  However, AFOC’s bills may be subject to reduction pursuant to the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule, in accordance with AS 23.30.097.  Jurisdiction is retained over this issue to resolve any disputes.

2) Is AFOC or Employee entitled to a penalty from Employer for Employer’s failure to pay AFOC’s bill related to Employee’s left knee symptoms?

Because Employer failed to answer AFOC’s claim, by law the facts in AFOC’s claim are deemed admitted.  Facts pertaining to the penalty issue include AFOC’s several submissions of the subject records and related itemized bills to Employer for payment, several phone calls by AFOC to Employer for follow-up, and no response from Employer.  It is undisputed Employer had yet to pay the bills as of the hearing date.  Furthermore, Employer offered no contrary evidence before or at hearing.  Therefore, because these facts are admitted and undisputed, entitlement to a penalty from Employer on the value of AFOC’s bills is a legal issue and the presumption of compensability analysis need not be applied.  Burke; Rockney.  Again, under these facts, applying the presumption would not promote the goals of encouraging coverage and prompt benefit payment, since Employer concedes it owes the claimed compensation.  
AS 23.30.155 required Employer to either pay AFOC promptly and directly, or controvert its rights to benefits on a prescribed, Controversion Notice.  It is undisputed Employer never controverted any part of Employee’s rights to benefits under the Act, or AFOC’s actual workers’ compensation claim.  Because AFOC’s bills were not controverted, they were payable without an award, but in this instance they were never paid.  The record shows AFOC sent the bills and records for the June 15, 2009 MRI and the July 8, 2009 x-rays and office visit to Employer on June 18, 2009, and July 10, 2009, respectively.  Pursuant to 8 AAC 45.082(d), these medical bills were “due” and payable without an award the date Employer received them and had to be paid within thirty days after the date Employer received the records and associated bills.  AS 23.30.155(e) says if compensation payable without an award is not paid within seven days after it is “due,” there shall be added to it a mandatory 25% penalty on all amounts unpaid when due.  If payments are not made seven days after the thirtieth day, the payments are late.  

The record shows Employer did not pay these bills within thirty-seven days of the dates it received the information needed to pay them, i.e., July 25, 2009, for the documents submitted on June 18, 2009, and August 16, 2009, for the documents submitted on July 10, 2009.  The law further states the additional amount of compensation in the form of a penalty is “paid directly to the recipient to whom the unpaid compensation was to be paid.”  In this case, AFOC is the party entitled to the unpaid compensation.  Therefore, Employer owes the AFOC a 25%, §155(e) penalty on the value of the medical bills, subject of AFOC’s February 23, 2010 claim.  However, the penalty shall be assessed on the bills only after any medical fee schedule adjustment which might apply under AS 23.30.097 is made.  Jurisdiction is retained over this issue to resolve any disputes.

3) Is AFOC entitled to interest from Employer on the value of AFOC’s medical bills incurred in respect to Employee’s left knee symptoms?

The law says an employer shall pay interest on compensation not paid when due.  Case law consistently applies this rule to medical bills, which are considered “compensation.”  It is undisputed Employer had yet to pay AFOC’s bills as of the hearing date.  Furthermore, Employer offered no contrary evidence before or at hearing.  Therefore, because these facts are admitted and undisputed, entitlement to interest from Employer on the value of AFOC’s bills is a legal issue and the presumption of compensability analysis need not be applied.  Burke; Rockney.  Applying the presumption would not promote the goals of encouraging coverage and prompt benefit payment, since Employer concedes it owes the claimed compensation.  

Regulations specify to whom the interest is to be paid, and states interest is paid to the provider if the medical benefits have not been paid, as is the case here.  Accordingly, Employer owes AFOC interest at the statutory rate for 2009 injuries on the value of the medical bills, subject of AFOC’s February 23, 2010 claim.  However, the interest shall be assessed on the bills only after any medical fee schedule adjustment which might apply under AS 23.30.097 is made.  Jurisdiction is retained over this issue to resolve any disputes.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1)  AFOC is entitled to payment of $1,800.00 in medical expenses from Employer for Employee’s left knee, subject to any applicable reduction under AS 23.30.097, the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule.

2) AFOC is entitled to a 25% §155(e) penalty from Employer for Employer’s failure to pay AFOC’s bill related to Employee’s left knee symptoms, calculated after any applicable reduction under AS 23.30.097, the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule.

3) AFOC is entitled to interest from Employer on the value of AFOC’s medical bills incurred in respect to Employee’s left knee symptoms, calculated after any applicable reduction under AS 23.30.097, the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule.

ORDER

1) If not already paid, Employer shall pay AFOC $1,800.00 in medical expenses for Employee’s left knee, subject to any applicable reduction under AS 23.30.097, the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule.

2) If not already paid, Employer shall pay AFOC a 25%, §155(e) penalty on the value of AFOC’s medical bills for Employer’s failure to pay AFOC’s bill related to Employee’s left knee symptoms, calculated after any applicable reduction under AS 23.30.097, the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule.

3) If not already paid, Employer shall pay AFOC interest on the value of AFOC’s medical bills incurred in respect to Employee’s left knee symptoms, calculated after any applicable reduction under AS 23.30.097, the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule.

Dated in Anchorage, Alaska on August 20, 2010.
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David Robinson, Member

APPEAL PROCEDURES

This compensation order is a final decision.  It becomes effective when filed in the office of the board unless proceedings to appeal it are instituted.  Effective November 7, 2005 proceedings to appeal must be instituted in the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Appeals Commission within 30 days of the filing of this decision and be brought by a party in interest against the board and all other parties to the proceedings before the board. If a request for reconsideration of this final decision is timely filed with the board, any proceedings to appeal must be instituted within 30 days after the reconsideration decision is mailed to the parties or within 30 days after the date the reconsideration request is considered denied due to the absence of any action on the reconsideration request, whichever is earlier.  AS 23.30.127.

An appeal may be initiated by filing with the office of the Appeals Commission: (1) a signed notice of appeal specifying the board order appealed from and 2) a statement of the grounds upon which the appeal is taken.  A cross-appeal may be initiated by filing with the office of the Appeals Commission a signed notice of cross-appeal within 30 days after the board decision is filed or within 15 days after service of a notice of appeal, whichever is later.  The notice of cross-appeal shall specify the board order appealed from and the grounds upon which the cross-appeal is taken.  AS 23.30.128.

RECONSIDERATION

A party may ask the board to reconsider this decision by filing a petition for reconsideration under AS 44.62.540 and in accordance with 8 AAC 45.050.  The petition requesting reconsideration must be filed with the board within 15 days after delivery or mailing of this decision.

MODIFICATION

Within one year after the rejection of a claim, or within one year after the last payment of benefits under AS 23.30.180, 23.30.185, 23.30.190, 23.30.200, or 23.30.215, a party may ask the board to modify this decision under AS 23.30.130 by filing a petition in accordance with 8 AAC 45.150 and 8 AAC 45.050.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify the foregoing is a full, true and correct copy of the Final Decision and Order in the matter of PRICILLA A. HURLEY, employee; ANCHORAGE FRACTURE & ORTHOPEDIC CLINIC, claimant v. PROGRESSIVE PERSONAL CARE, employer; ARGONAUT INSURANCE CO., insurer / defendants; Case No. 200903749; dated and filed in the office of the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Board in Anchorage, Alaska, on August 20, 2010.
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Jean Sullivan, Clerk

�








2

