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ALASKA WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD

P.O. Box 115512
Juneau, Alaska 99811-5512

	MARY A. ADEPOJU, 

Employee,

Claimant, 

v. 

STATE OF ALASKA, DEPARTMENT OF
HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES,

Self-Insured Employer,
Defendant.

	)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)
	FINAL DECISION AND ORDER

AWCB Case No.  201019561
AWCB Decision No. 13-0071
Filed with AWCB Fairbanks, Alaska

On June 24, 2013


Mary Adepoju’s (Employee) April 1, 2013 claim for penalties and interest was scheduled on the hearing docket on May 1, 2013 and heard on in Fairbanks, Alaska on May 9, 2013, the parties having waived the 10 day notice requirement.  Employee appeared and testified on her own behalf.  M. David Rhodes appeared on behalf of Employer.  Roberta Highstone, Adjuster for Harbor Adjustment Services, and Anne Feakes, State of Alaska Division of Risk Management, appeared telephonically and testified on Employer’s behalf.  The record closed at the hearing’s conclusion on May 9, 2013.

ISSUE
Employee contends she and Employer entered into a settlement agreement on March 4, 2013 that called for Employer to pay her $25,000.00.  She contends she received a check from Employer on March 25, 2013 and took it to the bank.  On March 28, 2013, Employee contends her bank called and informed her Employer’s check had “bounced” and all her funds would be “frozen.”  She contends she called Employer’s attorney and the board the same day and left messages regarding the bounced check and contends the board returned her call the following day and suggested she get in touch with Employer’s attorney.  Employee contends she called Employer’s attorney, who referred her to Employer’s adjuster and Employer’s adjuster advised her to “send the check through again.”  She contends her bank informed her it does not “send state checks through twice.”  Employee contends her funds were “unfrozen” on April 1, 2013.  Since more than 14 days passed between the date of the agreement and the date Employee’s funds were available to her, she contends penalty and interest is due on the settlement proceeds.  

Employer does not dispute Employee’s event dates, but rather her calculation of time.  It contends it received notice of the board’s approval of the agreement on March 18, 2013 and contends it mailed a check to Employee on March 20, 2013.  However, Employer contends when Employee deposited its check at her bank, its bank “declined” the check because the Division of Risk Management had failed to notify its bank of the settlement.  It contends Employee notified it on March 28, 2013 the check had not cleared, it then advised Employee to re-deposit the check and, it “cleared” the check with its bank so it would be negotiable.  Employer contends Employee re-deposited the check on March 28, 2013 but Employee’s bank did not contact its bank to request “approval” of the check until April 1, 2013, when the check was approved.  It contends the settlement was not due until March 18, 2013, when it received notice the agreement had been approved; and Employee had a “negotiable instrument” in her possession on March 28, 2013, at which point its obligation to pay was suspended contingent on the check’s final clearance.  It contends it met its obligation under the statute and neither penalty nor interest is due.  

Is Employee entitled to penalty and interest for late payment of the settlement proceeds?

FINDINGS OF FACT
The following facts and factual conclusions are established by a preponderance of the evidence:

1) On November 23, 2010, Employee reported slipping and falling on ice and injuring her back and head while taking out the trash for Employer the previous day.  (Report of Occupational Injury or Illness, November 23, 2010).

2) On July 6, 2012, Employer controverted all benefits based on an employer’s medical evaluation (EME).  (Notice of Controversion, July 6, 2012).

3) On December 11, 2012, Employer served a second controversion notice based on the EME. (Notice of Controversion, December 11, 2012).

4) On January 3, 2013, the Reemployment Benefits Administrator (RBA) found Employee eligible for reemployment benefits.  (Workers’ Compensation Division’s electronic events calendar, January 3, 2013).

5) On January, 11, 2013, Employer petitioned for a review of the RBA’s determination finding Employee eligible for reemployment benefits contending his decision was premature.  (Employer petition, January 11, 2013).

6) On January 16, 2013, Employee filed a claim seeking medical costs, permanent partial impairment and a second independent medical evaluation.  (Claim, January 16, 2013).

7) The parties participated in an initial prehearing conference on January 28, 2013.  (Prehearing Conference Summary, January 28, 2013).

8) On February 11, 2013, the parties participated in mediation that resulted in a partial compromise and release of Employee’s claim.  Employee agreed to a release of reemployment and permanent total disability (PTD) benefits in exchange for $25,000.00.  The agreement left open future medical and transportation as well as other indemnity benefits.  (Observations; Compromise and Release Agreement, March 11, 2013).
9) On March 4, 2013, Employee signed the compromise and release (C&R) agreement.  (C&R, March 11, 2013).

10) On March 7, 2013 Employer signed the C&R.  (Id.). 

11) On March 14, 2013, the C&R was approved, filed with the board and the parties were notified of the approval via certified U.S. mail, return receipt requested.  (Id.; Workers’ Compensation Division’s electronic events calendar, March 14, 2013).

12) On March 18, 2013, both Employee and Employer signed for receipt of the approved C&R.  (Return receipts, March 18, 2013).

13) On March 20, 2013, Employer deposited a check payable to Employee in the settlement of  $25,000.00 in the U.S. mail.  (Highstone, Feakes).

14) On March 25, 2013, Employee received and deposited Employer’s check at her bank.  (Adepoju; Feakes; Scanned image of Employer’s check, March 25, 2013).

15) On March 28, 2013, Employee re-deposited Employer’s check at her bank.  (Feakes; Scanned image of Employer’s check, March 28, 2013).

16) On April 1, 2013, Employee’s bank wrote a “To Whom it May Concern” letter stating “This letter certifies that the check deposited on 3/25/13 for the amount $25,000.00 is valid and has cleared the account on April 1, 2013 @ 4:30pm.  Employee also filed a claim seeking penalty and interest on the settlement proceeds, alleging late payment by Employer.  (Letter from Credit Union 1, April 1, 2013; Claim, April 1, 2013).

17) On May 1, 2013, the parties participated in prehearing conference.  The parties waived the 10 day written notice requirement and Employee’s claim was scheduled for hearing on May 9, 2013.  (Prehearing Conference Summary, May 1, 2013).

18) Employee’s hearing testimony consisted of reading her hearing brief into the record.  Her testimony was identical to her contentions, set forth above.  On cross examination, Employee stated she re-deposited the check on the same day she spoke to Employer’s adjuster.  Employee agreed she deposited Employer’s check on March 25, 2013 and again on March 28, 2013.  (Employee). 

19) Roberta Hightower testified she was Employer’s adjuster on this claim.  She received the approved C&R on March 18, 2013 and the settlement check was sent to Employee on March 20, 2013.  When she became aware of Employee’s issue with the check, she passed along instructions from Risk Management to Employee for her to re-deposit the check.  Ms. Hightower offered to cover any bank charges generated by the difficulties with Employer’s check.  (Hightower).

20) Anne Feakes testified she is an accounting technician for the Employer’s Division of Risk Management.  The settlement check was mailed to Employee on March 20, 2013.  She explained in the evening Employer sends its bank copies of the checks it issued earlier in the day so its bank knows a check is a “good” check.  Because Employer had recently changed systems, Employer’s bank did not receive a copy of the check to Employee through their system and that check “came up as questionable” when Employee presented it on March 25, 2013.  Because that day was Seward’s Day, a state holiday, Employer was unavailable to verify the check to Employee with its bank.  Employer noticed the issue with the check to Employee on March 27, 2013 and immediately called its bank and sent an email to its adjuster on how to resolve the issue.  Specifically, Employer advised its adjuster to instruct Employee to re-deposit the check.  Employee then re-deposited the check on March 28, 2013 and it cleared on April 1, 2013.  She did not know why it took from March 28, 2013 to April 1, 2013 for the check to clear.  Ms. Hightower authorized Employer’s adjuster to cover any of Employee’s expenses resulting from problem’s with Employer’s check, but she has never been informed of any such expenses.  (Feakes).
PRINCIPLES OF LAW

AS 23.30.125.  Administrative review of compensation order.  (a) A compensation order becomes effective when filed with the office of the board as provided in AS 23.30.110, and, unless proceedings to reconsider, suspend, or set aside the order are instituted as provided in this chapter, the order becomes final on the 31st day after it is filed.
. . . . 

AS 23.30.155.  Payment of compensation.  (a) Compensation under this chapter shall be paid periodically, promptly, and directly to the person entitled to it, without an award, except where liability to pay compensation is controverted by the employer. . . . 

(b) The first installment of compensation becomes due on the 14th day after the employer has knowledge of the injury or death. On this date all compensation then due shall be paid. Subsequent compensation shall be paid in installments, every 14 days, except where the board determines that payment in installments should be made monthly or at some other period. 

. . . .

(e) If any installment of compensation payable without an award is not paid within seven days after it becomes due, as provided in (b) of this section, there shall be added to the unpaid installment an amount equal to 25 percent of the installment.  This additional amount shall be paid at the same time as, and in addition to, the installment, unless notice is filed under (d) of this section or unless the nonpayment is excused by the board after a showing by the employer that owing to conditions over which the employer had no control the installment could not be paid within the period prescribed for the payment. 

(f) If compensation payable under the terms of an award is not paid within 14 days after it becomes due, there shall be added to that unpaid compensation an amount equal to 25 percent of the unpaid installment.  The additional amount shall be paid at the same time as, but in addition to, the compensation, unless review of the compensation order making the award as provided under AS 23.30.008 and an interlocutory injunction staying payments is allowed by the court. 

. . . . 

(p) An employer shall pay interest on compensation that is not paid when due. Interest required under this subsection accrues at the rate specified in AS 09.30.070(a) that is in effect on the date the compensation is due. . . . 

An employer’s obligation to pay workers’ compensation settlement proceeds to an employee begins when the agreement is approved and filed with the board.  Id.; Aleck v. Kiewit Cententenial, AWCB Decision No. 00-0054 (March 23, 2000) at 4 (citing AS 23.30.125).  C.f. Aleutian Homes v. Fischer, 418 P.2d 769 (Alaska 1966) (30 day period for review of compensation order begins to run when the order is filed with the board, not when it is received by the claimant).  The “mailbox rule” has long been held to apply to workers’ compensation cases and payment is timely made when it is deposited in the mail to the person entitled to it within 14 days after issuance of an order.  Chavarria v. Klondike Inn, AWCB Decision No. 96-0125 (March 27, 1996) (citing Sherman v. Alta Dauel, AWCB Decision No. 84-0377 (November 26, 1984); Barker v. H.C. Price Co., AWCB Decision No. 84-0244 (July 2, 1984)).  
Citing Alaska’s enactment of the Uniform Commercial Code (Code), the Alaska Supreme Court held acceptance of a draft by a workers’ compensation claimant suspends the underlying obligation on the part of insurer to pay the claimant pursuant to a settlement agreement until the instrument is either paid, which discharges the obligation, or dishonored, which re-imposes the payment obligation.  Harper v. K&W Trucking Co., 725 P.2d 1066; 1067-68 (Alaska 1986) (citations omitted).  

The statute strikes a balance between two possible approaches.  Under one approach, the mere acceptance of the instrument would discharge the obligation.  Under a second approach, acceptance of the instrument would have no effect and the underlying obligation would remain in force until cash actually changed hands.  The statute effects a compromise between these two approaches by suspending the obligation, but only until it is satisfied.  

Id. at 1068.  Harper specifically rejected the notion an employee is entitled to cash in hand within 14 days after payment is due.  Aleck at 5, 8.  The 14 day statutory payment deadline can be re-set and begin to run anew under certain circumstances, such as when stop payment is placed on a compensation check after it was not received.  American Int’l Group v. Carriere, 2 P.3d 1222 (Alaska 2000) at 1225.
Decisions have recognized potentially different results depending upon whether the mailbox rule or the rule in Harper is applied and have addressed the situation by analyzing the results under each rule.  Alleck at 6; Rangel v. Costco Wholesale Corp., AWCB Decision No. 08-0187 (October 15, 2008) at 4.  Like the Supreme Court in Harper, Aleck also consulted the Code to determine an employee making inquires to employer’s bank and attempting to exchange employer’s check for cash at other banks did not constitute “presentment” to a “drawee.” Aleck at 6.  Aleck concluded, since there was no presentment to a drawee under the Code, employer’s check was never “dishonored,” whcih would re-impose employer’s payment obligation.  Aleck at 7.  

There has been some question of how strictly Harper is to be applied and, notwithstanding that authority, decisions have expressed a preference for the mailbox rule versus strict application of the rule in Harper because, “while an employer can control when it mails a settlement check, it cannot control the U.S. Postal Service or an employee’s actual receipt of a settlement check.”  Aleck at 6.  See also Corsmeier v. NANA Regional Corp., AWCB decision No. 05-0229 (September 9, 2005) (reaffirming the mailbox rule while noting “an employer can control when it mails and to where it mail [sic] a settlement check, it cannot control the U.S. Postal Service any more than it could control a file server glitch of an internet provider or other method of service.”).

8 AAC 45.060.  Service.  (a) The board will serve a copy of the claim by certified mail, return receipt requested, upon each party or the party's representative of record. 

(b) . . . . Service by mail is complete at the time of deposit in the mail if mailed with sufficient postage and properly addressed to the party at the party’s last known address.  If a right may be exercised or an act is to be done, three days must be added to the prescribed period when a document is served by mail.

. . . . 
8 AAC 45.063.  Computation of time.  (a) In computing any time period prescribed by the Act or this chapter, the day of the act, event, or default after which the designated period of time begins to run is not to be included.  The last day of the period is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday or a legal holiday, in which case the period runs until the end of the next day which is neither a Saturday, Sunday nor a holiday.

. . . .

8 AAC 45.142.  Interest.  (a)  If compensation is not paid when due, interest must be paid at the rate established in AS 45.45.010 for an  Injury that occurred before July 1, 2000, and at the rate established in AS 09.30.070(a) for injury that occurred on or after July 1, 2000.  If more than one installment of compensation is past due, interest must be paid from the date each installment of compensation was due, until paid.  If compensation for a past period is paid under an order issued by the board, interest on the compensation awarded must be paid from the due date of each unpaid installment of compensation.

(b) The Employer shall pay the interest

(1) on late-paid time-loss compensation to the Employee. . . .

The courts have consistently instructed the board to award interest for the time-value of money, as a matter of course.  See Land and Marine Rental Co. v. Rawls, 686 P.2d 1187, 1192 (Alaska 1984); Harp v. Arco Alaska, Inc., 831 P.2d 352 (Alaska 1994); Childs v. Copper Valley Elec. Ass'n, 860 P.2d 1184, 1191 (Alaska 1993).  For injuries which occurred on or after July 1, 2000, AS 23.30.155(p) and 8 AAC 45.142 require payment of interest at a statutory rate, as provided at AS 09.30.070(a), from the date at which each installment of compensation is due.  

ANALYSIS
Following mediation, Employee and Employer agreed to a partial settlement of benefits and signed a written C&R agreement that was approved, filed and served on the parties on March 14, 2013.  The compensation award became effective on that date.  AS 23.30.125(a).  Since the board served the parties via U.S. certified mail and “an act was to be done,” three days is added for service, establishing the first day of the period as March 18, 2013, the same day the parties received actual notice of the approval and filing of the agreement.  8 AAC 45.060(b); 8 AAC 45.063(a).  

Employer mailed the settlement check to Employee on March 20, 2013, satisfying the mailbox rule well before expiration of the 14 day statutory period.  Applying the rule in Harper, Employee accepted Employer’s draft on March 25, 2012, which then suspended Employer’s obligation to pay contingent upon payment.  The record is then insufficient to determine whether Employer’s check was subsequently “dishonored,” as that term is defined by the Code which, under Harper, would have re-imposed Employer’s payment obligation for some period of time between March 25, 2013 and April 1, 2013, when funds were available to Employee.  AS 45.03.502 (rules governing dishonor of negotiable instrument).  However, April 1, 2013 was the 14th day of the statutory period which began on March 18, thus even if Employer’s obligation to pay was not suspended for any period of time between March 25, 2013 and April 1, 2013, Employer’s payment was still timely.  Therefore, penalty and interest will not be awarded.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Employee is not entitled to penalty and interest for late payment of the settlement proceeds.

ORDER

Employee’s April 1, 2013 claim seeking penalty and interest is denied.

Dated in Fairbanks, Alaska on June 24, 2013. 

ALASKA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BOARD
















Robert Vollmer, Designated Chair
















Krista Lord, Member

APPEAL PROCEDURES
This compensation order is a final decision and becomes effective when filed in the board’s office, unless it is appealed.  Any party in interest may file an appeal with the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Appeals Commission within 30 days of the date this decision is filed.  All parties before the board are parties to an appeal.  If a request for reconsideration of this final decision is timely filed with the board, any proceedings to appeal must be instituted within 30 days after the reconsideration decision is mailed to the parties or within 30 days after the date the reconsideration request is considered denied because the board takes no action on reconsideration, whichever is earlier.

A party may appeal by filing with the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Appeals Commission: (1) a signed notice of appeal specifying the board order appealed from; 2) a statement of the grounds for the appeal; and 3) proof of service of the notice and statement of grounds for appeal upon the Director of the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Division and all parties.  Any party may cross-appeal by filing with the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Appeals Commission a signed notice of cross-appeal within 30 days after the board decision is filed or within 15 days after service of a notice of appeal, whichever is later.  The notice of cross-appeal shall specify the board order appealed from and the grounds upon which the cross-appeal is taken.  Whether appealing or cross-appealing, parties must meet all requirements of 8 AAC 57.070.

RECONSIDERATION
A party may ask the board to reconsider this decision by filing a petition for reconsideration under AS 44.62.540 and in accordance with 8 AAC 45.050.  The petition requesting reconsideration must be filed with the board within 15 days after delivery or mailing of this decision.

MODIFICATION
Within one year after the rejection of a claim, or within one year after the last payment of benefits under AS 23.30.180, 23.30.185, 23.30.190, 23.30.200, or 23.30.215, a party may ask the board to modify this decision under AS 23.30.130 by filing a petition in accordance with 8 AAC 45.150 and 8 AAC 45.050.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify the foregoing is a full, true and correct copy of the Final Decision and Order in the matter of MARY ADEPOJU employee / claimant v. STATE OF ALASKA, DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION self-insured employer / defendant; Case No. 201019561; dated and filed in the office of the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Board in Fairbanks, Alaska, and served upon the parties this 24th day of June, 2013.
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